Cigar Sales on First Nations Reserves

This publication provides general information and sets out the Ministry of Finance (ministry) approach for wholesalers and retailers who sell cigars on First Nations reserves. It does not replace the Tobacco Tax Act or the regulations.

What's new?

As announced in Ontario's 2021 Budget, the ministry is working closely with current wholesalers and new cigar applicants to clarify and strengthen guidance regarding on‐reserve sales.

Starting with the 2022 permit year, there will be changes for cigar wholesalers who operate under the administrative concession and sell cigars on reserve without collecting an amount on account of tax (i.e., untaxed cigars). These wholesalers will be required to consult with the ministry by submitting a cigar sales plan as part of the yearly permit process.

Review of the wholesaler's cigar sales plan will allow the ministry to evaluate whether a wholesaler's proposed cigar sales on reserve represents reasonable retail volumes, and will allow for transparent communication between the ministry and wholesalers towards ensuring that sales volumes represent the ministry's view of reasonable retail volumes.

For more information, refer to Cigar sales plan review.

Requirements for wholesalers

Any wholesaler who wishes to deliver or sell cigars to a retailer in Ontario must first register with the ministry, obtain a wholesaler's permit, and be designated as a cigar tax collector.

Every wholesaler must ensure that every retailer to whom it sells cigars holds a Tobacco Retail Dealer’s Permit under the Tobacco Tax Act or is authorized by the ministry as a retailer under Ontario’s First Nations Cigarette Allocation System.

In general, wholesalers are required to collect an amount on account of tax on all cigar sales.

However, to facilitate the tax‑exempt purchase of cigars by First Nations individuals purchasing cigars on a reserve, the ministry does not generally enforce this pre‑collection of tax requirement in situations where the cigars are delivered and sold on a reserve by a wholesaler directly to an authorized on‑reserve retailer acting in their capacity as a retailer. This administrative concession helps minimize financial and administrative burden for on‑reserve retailers.

The total quantity of cigars sold to each on‑reserve retailer must be reported to the ministry on a monthly basis using Schedule 9S – Sales of Tax Exempt Tobacco Products to First Nations Retailers and submitted with the wholesaler’s monthly Tobacco Tax Return.

The administrative concession does not apply to sales of cigars to a person on‑reserve acting as a wholesaler. Under the Tobacco Tax Act, a wholesaler is a person who sells cigars for the purposes of resale. Depending on the nature of the transaction, a person can be a wholesaler even if the person holds a Tobacco Retail Dealer’s Permit under the Tobacco Tax Act or is authorized by the ministry as a retailer under Ontario’s First Nations Cigarette Allocation System.

In situations where deliveries and sales of untaxed cigars by a wholesaler to a person exceeds the volumes typically sold to a retailer, the ministry may consider that sale as a sale to a wholesaler and assess the wholesaler for failure to collect tax.

To avoid penalty assessments for failure to collect tax, wholesalers must carefully evaluate and monitor the volume of their untaxed cigar sales to authorized on‑reserve retailers to ensure they are in line with the volumes typically sold to retailers.

Wholesalers may also choose to not use the administrative concession and collect the tax on all cigar sales.

NEW! Cigar sales plan review

To help wholesalers evaluate the volume of their untaxed cigar sales to authorized on‑reserve retailers, the ministry has introduced a new cigar sales plan review process.

Starting with the 2022 permit year, as part of the yearly permit process, all cigar wholesalers who operate under the administrative concession and sell untaxed cigars on reserve will be required to consult with the ministry by submitting a plan of their proposed untaxed cigar sales on reserve for the calendar year (January 1 to December 31).

Review of the wholesaler's cigar sales plan on a yearly basis will allow the ministry to evaluate whether a wholesaler's proposed cigar sales on reserve represents reasonable retail volumes.

The annual sales plan for the period January 1st to December 31st of the permit year should have a breakdown of the proposed cigar sales including:

  • the name of each on‑reserve retailer,
  • the location of each retailer including the reserve's name, and
  • the total volume of anticipated individual untaxed cigars to be sold to each retailer.

Cigar sales plan review – 2022 transitional measure

As a transitional measure, applicable to only the 2022 permit year, the ministry will not require some wholesalers to submit a sales plan if the wholesaler's historical untaxed cigar sales are considered reasonable cigar sales volumes on reserve as outlined later in this publication. If these wholesalers anticipate that their untaxed cigar sales volumes in 2022 will increase from their historical volumes, the ministry requires these wholesalers to submit a 2022 cigar sales plan to the ministry for review and consultation that includes the anticipated increase in sales.

The ministry will send a letter to ministry authorized cigar wholesalers informing them whether or not the ministry requires them to submit a cigar sales plan for the 2022 permit year.

As the ministry works with wholesalers on this new process, the submission date for the first draft of sales plans to the ministry for 2022 is January 14, 2022.

If a wholesaler has not received a letter from the ministry by November 30, 2021, the wholesaler can email the ministry at commodity.tax@ontario.ca, or call 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) to follow up on this matter.

Wholesalers are required to submit their sales plan by email to commodity.tax@ontario.ca or by mail to:

Ministry of Finance
33 King Street West
PO Box 625
Oshawa ON L1H 8E9

New wholesalers are required to submit their plan with their application to register for a wholesaler's permit.

The ministry's review of 2022 sales plans will take place in early 2022. To support this process, permits will be issued for January 1, 2022 to June 30, 2022 while discussions between the ministry and wholesalers occur. Sales plans are expected to be finalized by March 31, 2022.

Once a wholesaler's plan has been accepted by the ministry, permits will be granted for the remainder of 2022.

How will the ministry evaluate what are reasonable retail volumes?

Two methods may be used by the ministry to assist in evaluating whether a wholesaler's anticipated cigar sales represent reasonable retail volumes.

  1. Retailer purchase analysis

    The ministry will review a wholesaler's proposed sales volumes to individual authorized on‑reserve retailers to analyze whether those retail transactions represent typical wholesaler‑to‑retailer sales volumes as opposed to wholesaler‑to‑wholesaler volumes.

    Generally, the ministry views sales of more than 25,000 cigars per retailer per year as exceeding reasonable retail volumes.

    Where relevant, the ministry may also take into consideration the wholesaler's average off‑reserve retail sales volumes, and how these might compare to their on‑reserve sales. A wholesaler's untaxed cigar sales to authorized on‑reserve retailers should generally be comparable to its sales to retailers not located on a reserve.

    Wholesalers may be asked to: (a) provide evidence to support their sales plan or; (b) revise their sales plan to an acceptable volume, where the sales plan includes proposed sales volumes to individual authorized on‑reserve retailers in excess of typical wholesaler‑to‑retailer sales volumes. For example, if a wholesaler proposes to sell 50,000 untaxed cigars per year to an authorized on‑reserve retailer in a given community, further discussions would be required to support these sales since the ministry views sales of more than 25,000 cigars per retailer per year as exceeding reasonable retail volumes.

  2. Consumer demand analysis

    The ministry will also assess whether a wholesaler's proposed untaxed cigar sales to authorized on‑reserve retailers in a First Nations community, in a given year, fall within the total estimated demand for cigars in that community.

    Therefore, wholesalers are advised to estimate the demand for cigars for each First Nations community for each year that they are supplying based on available data.

    Estimates of the demand for cigars in a particular First Nations community, can be made with the assistance of this calculation:

    Community Demand = P x 0.09 x 300
    Where P = First Nations reserve population (including members who do not live on‑reserve)
    9% = estimated cigar smoking rate for First Nations people1
    300 = estimated number of cigars consumed annually per person2

    Wholesalers may be asked to: (a) provide evidence to support their sales plan or; (b) revise their sales plan to an acceptable volume, where the proposed sales plan exceeds estimated consumer demand. For example, if a wholesaler proposes to sell more than two million untaxed cigars per year to on-reserve retailers in a given community, but the community demand analysis suggests that only 500,000 cigars would be required to meet smokers' consumption needs, this sales plan would not be accepted by the ministry and further discussion with the wholesaler would be required.

    To obtain yearly First Nations population broken down by individual community, wholesalers can email the ministry at commodity.tax@ontario.ca, or call 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297).

    1. Based on the 2019 Canadian Tobacco and Nicotine Survey, approximately 3% of the general Canadian population smokes cigars. First Nations smoking rates on‑reserve can be as much as three times higher than that of the general population. Hence, it is estimated that cigar smoking rate for First Nations is approximately 9% (3% x 3 times = 9%).

    2. Comparing smoking rates to Health Canada cigar sales data suggests that approximately 300 cigars are consumed annually per smoker. However, this may vary based on product type.

What will happen if the proposed cigar sales do not represent reasonable retail volumes based on the two methods outlined by the ministry?

If a wholesaler's sales plan does not meet requirements, the ministry will work with the wholesaler and provide support with aligning the wholesaler's sales plan, or alternatively, provide the wholesaler with an opportunity to communicate justification for the higher sales volumes.

In the event that wholesalers fail to provide a proposed sales plan with reasonable retail volumes under the administrative concession, the ministry may not issue a wholesaler permit. The ministry will notify such wholesalers it intends to refuse permits and afford a hearing opportunity to show cause why their permits should not be refused.

Other information

If wholesalers experience challenges in determining a sales plan, they should contact the ministry for assistance.

As with all registrants, wholesalers will continue to be subject to audit under the Tobacco Tax Act. The audit will consider the sales plan submitted to the ministry.

Wholesalers who opt instead to charge tax on all cigar sales to authorized on-reserve retailers are not required to provide a cigar sales plan as part of the permit process. If these wholesalers later decide to operate under the administrative concession during the year, they will need to notify the ministry and provide a plan of their proposed untaxed cigar sales on‑reserve for the remainder of the calendar year to the ministry for evaluation before the change occurs.

If a wholesaler's cigar sales volumes further increase during the permit year in comparison with their cigar sales plan, wholesalers are required to notify the ministry and provide an updated cigar sales plan. Any changes will be reviewed by the ministry and evaluated in terms of being reasonable retail volumes.

Requirements for on‑reserve retailers

Every on‑reserve retailer of cigars must hold a Tobacco Retail Dealer's Permit under the Tobacco Tax Act or be authorized as a retailer under Ontario's First Nations Cigarette Allocation System in order to make sales to consumers.

However, such a permit or authorization does not allow a person to make sales to wholesalers or other retailers. Those types of sales require a person to hold a wholesaler's permit.

If an on‑reserve retailer has been charged an amount on account of tax by the wholesaler from whom they purchased cigars, they are eligible for a refund of tax paid on their tax‑exempt sales to First Nations consumers. To support a claim for a refund, the retailer must satisfy the ministry that an amount on account of tax was paid on the cigars, and that the person who purchased the cigar is exempt from taxation (i.e., purchaser's name and their Certificate of Status Card number).

On‑reserve retailers who have been notified they will be charged tax or have been charged tax on cigars by the wholesaler should contact the ministry at 1 866 668‑8297 or commodity.tax@ontario.ca to obtain information on how to file a refund claim for the exempt of tax sales to eligible purchasers and the required documentation to support such a claim.

Applications for refund must be sent to:

Ministry of Finance
Commodity Tax Administration
Refund Applications
33 King Street West, 4th Floor
Oshawa ON  L1H 8E9

For any further information, please call 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297).

Page: 3435  |

Vente de cigares dans les réserves des Premières Nations

La présente publication fournit des renseignements généraux et explique l'approche du ministère des Finances (le ministère) par rapport aux grossistes et détaillants qui vendent des cigares dans les réserves des Premières Nations. Elle ne remplace pas les dispositions de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac et ses règlements.

Quoi de neuf?

Comme annoncé dans budget de l'Ontario 2021, le ministère collabore étroitement avec les grossistes de cigares actuels et les nouveaux demandeurs de permis pour éclaircir et raffermir les directives à l'égard de la vente de cigares dans les réserves.

À partir de l'année d'octroi de permis 2022, il y aura des changements pour les grossistes de cigares qui fonctionnent selon la concession administrative et qui vendent des cigares dans des réserves sans recouvrer un montant en guise de taxe (c.-à-d. des cigares non taxés). Ces grossistes devront consulter le ministère en soumettant un plan de vente de cigares dans le cadre du renouvellement annuel de leur permis.

L'examen des plans de vente de cigares des grossistes permettra au ministère de déterminer si les ventes de cigares dans des réserves proposées par les grossistes représentent des volumes de vente au détail raisonnables et assurera une communication transparente entre le ministère et les grossistes afin de veiller à ce que les volumes de vente représentent des volumes que le ministère considère comme étant des volumes de vente au détail raisonnables.

Pour plus d'informations, consultez la section Examen du plan de vente de cigares.

Exigences pour les grossistes

Les grossistes qui désirent livrer ou vendre des cigares à un détaillant en Ontario doivent d'abord s'inscrire auprès du ministère, obtenir un permis de grossiste et se faire désigner percepteurs de la taxe sur les cigares.

Tous les grossistes doivent s'assurer que chaque détaillant auquel ils vendent des cigares détient un permis de détaillant de tabac en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac ou est un détaillant autorisé par le ministère en vertu du Système d'attribution de cigarettes aux Premières Nations en Ontario.

En règle générale, les grossistes doivent recouvrer un montant en guise de taxe sur toutes les ventes de cigares.

Cependant, pour faciliter l'achat dans une réserve de cigares exonérés de taxe par des membres des Premières Nations, le ministère n'exécute pas généralement la collecte préalable de la taxe dans des situations où les cigares sont livrés et vendus par un grossiste directement à un détaillant autorisé dans une réserve qui agit dans sa capacité de détaillant. Cette concession administrative vise à réduire le fardeau financier et administratif pour les détaillants dans les réserves.

La quantité totale de cigares vendus à chaque détaillant dans une réserve doit être déclaré au ministère mensuellement au moyen de l’annexe Ventes de produits de tabac exonérés de taxe à des détaillants des Premières nations – 9S et soumis avec la déclaration mensuelle du grossiste.

Cette concession administrative ne s'applique pas aux ventes de cigares dans une réserve à une personne qui agit à titre de grossiste. En vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, un grossiste est une personne qui vend des cigares à des fins de revente. Selon la nature de l’opération, une personne peut être grossiste même si elle détient un permis de détaillant de tabac en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac ou elle est un détaillant autorisé par le ministère en vertu du Système d'attribution de cigarettes aux Premières Nations en Ontario.

Dans les situations où les livraisons et les ventes de cigares non taxés à une personne par un grossiste excèdent les volumes typiquement vendus à un détaillant, le ministère pourrait considérer la vente comme une vente à un grossiste et imposer une pénalité au grossiste pour défaut de recouvrer la taxe.

Afin d'éviter l'imposition d'une pénalité pour défaut de recouvrer la taxe, les grossistes doivent soigneusement évaluer et surveiller le volume de leurs ventes de cigars non taxés aux détaillants autorisés dans les réserves pour s'assurer qu'ils respectent les volumes typiquement vendus aux détaillants.

Les grossistes peuvent aussi choisir de ne pas utiliser la concession administrative et de recouvrer la taxe sur tous les cigares vendus.

NOUVEAU! Examen du plan de vente de cigares

Afin d'aider les grossistes à évaluer le volume de leurs ventes de cigares non taxés à des détaillants autorisés dans des réserves, le ministère a lancé un nouveau processus d'examen des plans de vente de cigares.

À partir de l'année d'octroi de permis 2022, dans le cadre du processus annuel d'octroi de permis, tous les grossistes de cigares qui fonctionnent selon la concession administrative et qui vendent des cigares non taxés dans des réserves devront consulter le ministère en soumettant un plan de vente de cigares non taxés proposé dans des réserves pour l'année civile (du 1er janvier au 31 décembre).

L'examen annuel des plans de vente de cigares des grossistes permettra au ministère de déterminer si les ventes de cigares dans des réserves proposés par les grossistes représentent des volumes de vente au détail raisonnables.

Le plan de ventes annuel pour la période du 1er janvier au 31 décembre de l'année d'octroi de permis doit fournir une ventilation des ventes de cigares proposées et inclure les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom de chaque détaillant dans des réserves,
  • l'adresse de tous les détaillants, y compris le nom de la réserve,
  • le volume total de cigares non taxés que le grossiste prévoit vendre à chaque détaillant.

Examen du plan de vente de cigares – Mesure transitoire pour 2022

Comme mesure transitoire pour l'année d'octroi de permis 2022 seulement, le ministère n'exigera pas de plan de vente de certains grossistes si les ventes historiques de cigares non taxés des grossistes en question sont considérées comme des volumes de vente de cigares raisonnables dans des réserves tels que décrits plus loin dans la présente publication. Si ces grossistes prévoient une augmentation des volumes de ventes de cigares non taxés en 2022 par rapport à leurs volumes historiques, le ministère exige que ces grossistes lui soumettent un plan de vente de cigares pour 2022 à des fins d'examen et de consultation qui inclut l'augmentation prévue des ventes.

Le ministère enverra une lettre aux grossistes de cigares autorisés pour leur indiquer s'ils doivent ou non soumettre un plan de vente de cigares pour l'année d'octroi de permis 2022.

Pendant que le ministère travaille avec les grossistes à la mise en place de ce nouveau processus, la date limite de soumission du plan de vente de cigares provisoire au ministère pour l'année 2022 est le 14 janvier 2022.

Les grossistes qui n'ont pas reçu de lettre du ministère par le 30 novembre 2021 peuvent envoyer un courriel au ministère à commodity.tax@ontario.ca, ou téléphoner à 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) pour demander un suivi.

Les grossistes doivent soumettre leur plan de vente par courriel à commodity.tax@ontario.ca ou par la poste au :

Ministère des Finances
33, rue King Ouest
C.P. 625
Oshawa ON L1H 8E9

Les nouveaux grossistes doivent soumettre leur plan avec leur demande d'enregistrement de permis de grossiste.

Le ministère examinera les plans de vente de 2022 au début de 2022. Des permis seront remis pour la période du 1er janvier au 30 juin 2022 afin de permettre le déroulement du processus durant les discussions entre le ministère et les grossistes. On s'attend à ce que les plans de vente soient finalisés au plus tard le 31 mars 2022.

Une fois que le ministère accepte le plan du grossiste, un permis lui sera remis pour le reste de 2022.

Comment le ministère déterminera‑t‑il ce qui constitue des volumes de vente au détail raisonnables?

Le ministère pourrait utiliser deux méthodes pour déterminer si le volume proposé de vente de cigares par le grossiste représente un volume de vente au détail raisonnable.

  1. Analyse des achats des détaillants

    Le ministère examinera le volume proposé de vente de cigares par le grossiste à chaque détaillant autorisé dans une réserve pour déterminer si les ventes au détail représentent des volumes de vente typiques entre grossiste et détaillant par opposition aux volumes de vente entre grossistes.

    En règle générale, le ministère considère que la vente de plus de 25 000 cigares à un seul détaillant dans une année dépasse les volumes de vente raisonnables.

    Lorsque c'est pertinent, le ministère pourrait aussi tenir compte des volumes de vente moyens du grossiste à des détaillants hors réserve et les comparer aux ventes aux détaillants dans des réserves. Les ventes de cigares non taxés d'un grossiste à des détaillants autorisés dans des réserves doivent généralement être comparables aux ventes à des détaillants hors réserve.

    Le ministère pourrait demander aux grossistes de : (a) fournir des preuves pour soutenir leur plan de vente ou; (b) modifier leur plan de vente pour qu'il corresponde à un volume acceptable lorsque le plan de vente proposé inclut des volumes de vente à des détaillants autorisés individuels dans des réserves qui dépassent les volumes de vente typiques entre grossiste et détaillant. Par exemple, si un grossiste prévoit vendre 50 000 cigares non taxés par année à un détaillant autorisé dans une réserve quelconque, des discussions supplémentaires seraient requises pour soutenir ces ventes, car le ministère considère que la vente de plus de 25 000 cigares à un seul détaillant dans une année dépasse les volumes de vente raisonnables.

  2. Analyse de la demande des consommateurs

    Le ministère évaluera également si les ventes de cigares proposées par le grossiste dans une année à des détaillants autorisés dans des réserves d'une collectivité des Premières Nations correspondent à la demande estimative de cigares dans cette collectivité.

    Ainsi, les grossistes sont avisés d'estimer la demande annuelle de cigares pour chaque collectivité des Premières Nations qu'ils fournissent en fonction des données disponibles.

    Le calcul de la demande estimative de cigares d'une collectivité particulière des Premières Nations peut se faire de la façon suivante :

    Demande de la collectivité = P x 0.09 x 300
    Où P = la population de la réserve des Premières Nations (y compris les membres qui ne vivent pas dans la réserve)
    9 % = taux de consommation de cigares des membres des Premières Nations1
    300 = nombre estimatif de cigares consommés par personne annuellement2

    On pourrait demander aux grossistes de : (a) fournir des preuves pour soutenir leur plan de vente ou; (b) modifier leur plan de vente pour qu'il corresponde à un volume acceptable lorsque le plan de vente proposé dépasse la demande des consommateurs. Par exemple, si un grossiste prévoit vendre plus de deux millions de cigares non taxés par année à des détaillants dans des réserves d'une collectivité quelconque alors que l'analyse de la demande de la collectivité indique que seulement 500 000 cigares seraient requis pour répondre aux besoins de consommation des fumeurs, le ministère n'accepterait pas ce plan de vente et des discussions supplémentaires seraient requises.

    Pour obtenir des données sur la population des Premières Nations par collectivité, les grossistes peuvent envoyer un courriel au ministère à commodity.tax@ontario.ca, ou lui téléphoner au 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297).

    1. Selon l'Enquête canadienne sur le tabac et la nicotine de 2019, environ 3 % de l'ensemble de la population canadienne fume des cigares. Les taux de tabagisme chez les membres des Premières Nations dans les réserves peuvent être jusqu'à trois fois plus élevés que ceux de la population générale. Ainsi, nous estimons que le taux de consommation de cigares chez les Premières nations est de 9 % (3 % x taux 3 fois plus élevés = 9 %).

    2. La comparaison des taux de tabagisme aux données de Santé Canada sur la consommation de cigares laisse entendre qu'un fumeur consomme environ 300 cigares annuellement. Ces chiffres pourraient toutefois varier selon le type de produit.

Qu'arrive-t-il si les ventes de cigares proposées ne représentent pas des volumes de vente au détail raisonnables selon les deux méthodes décrites par le ministère?

Si le plan de vente de cigares du grossiste ne satisfait pas aux exigences, le ministère travaillera avec lui et l'aidera à rajuster son plan de vente ou lui permettra de fournir une explication qui justifie les volumes de vente plus élevés.

Dans l'éventualité où le grossiste ne fournit pas un plan de vente proposé avec des volumes de vente au détail raisonnables en vertu de la concession administrative, le ministère pourrait ne pas accorder le permis de grossiste. Le ministère avisera ces grossistes de son intention de refuser le permis et leur permettra de participer à une audience pour qu'ils puissent démontrer pourquoi le permis doit leur être accordé.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Les grossistes qui éprouvent de la difficulté à déterminer leur plan de vente doivent communiquer avec le ministère pour obtenir de l'aide.

Comme pour tous les inscrits, les grossistes demeurent assujettis à une vérification en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. La vérification tiendra compte du plan de vente soumis au ministère.

Les grossistes qui choisissent plutôt d'imposer de la taxe sur tous les cigares vendus à des détaillants autorisés dans des réserves ne sont pas tenus de fournir un plan de vente de cigares dans le cadre du processus d'octroi de permis. Si ces grossistes décident par la suite de fonctionner selon la concession administrative durant l'année, ils devront en aviser le ministère et lui fournir un plan pour la vente de cigares non taxés dans des réserves pour le reste de l'année civile avant que le changement puisse avoir lieu.

Si les volumes de vente de cigares d'un grossiste augmentent davantage durant l'année d'octroi de permis comparativement au plan de vente de cigares, le grossiste doit en aviser le ministère et lui fournir un plan de vente de cigares à jour. Le ministère examinera tous les changements et déterminera si les volumes de vente au détail sont raisonnables.

Exigences pour les détaillants dans les réserves

Tous les détaillants de cigares dans les réserves doivent détenir un permis de détaillant de tabac en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac ou être un détaillant autorisé en vertu du Système d'attribution de cigarettes aux Premières Nations en Ontario pour vendre aux consommateurs.

Ce permis ne permet pas toutefois la vente à des grossistes ou à d'autres détaillants. Pour ce type de ventes, une personne doit détenir un permis de grossiste.

Si un détaillant dans une réserve s'est vu imposer un montant en guise de taxe par un grossiste duquel il a acheté des cigares, il est admissible à un remboursement de la taxe payée sur les ventes exonérées de taxe à des consommateurs des Premières Nations. Pour soutenir sa demande de remboursement, le détaillant doit montrer au ministère qu'un montant en guise de taxe a été payé sur les cigares et que la personne qui a acheté les cigares est exonérée de payer la taxe (c.-à-d. le nom de l'acheteur et son numéro de Certificat de statut d'Indien).

Les détaillants dans les réserves qui ont été avisés qu'on leur imposera de la taxe ou qui se sont vus imposer de la taxe par les grossistes doivent communiquer avec le ministère en téléphonant au 1 866 668‑8297 ou en envoyant un courriel à commodity.tax@ontario.ca pour obtenir de l'information sur la façon de demander un remboursement pour les ventes exonérées de taxes pour les acheteurs admissibles et sur les documents à l'appui qu'ils doivent soumettre.

Les demandes de remboursement doivent être transmises au :

Ministère des Finances
Administration des taxes à la consommation
Demandes de remboursement
33, rue King Ouest, 4e étage
Oshawa ON  L1H 8E9

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, téléphonez au 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668-8297).

Page : 3435  |