First Nations Cigarette Allocation System

This page outlines Ontario's First Nations Cigarette Allocation System outlined in Ontario Regulation 649/93 (O. Reg. 649/93) made under the Tobacco Tax Act. It provides general information only and does not replace the Tobacco Tax Act and Regulations.

Formal review of the First Nations Cigarette Allocation System

In 2015, the government launched a formal review of the First Nations Cigarette Allocation System, led by independent co‑facilitators Kathleen Lickers and Peter Griffin.

The facilitators were tasked with engaging First Nation communities and leadership, as well as other key stakeholders such as the industry and public health experts to gather input and perspectives, and provide options to the government on ways to modernize and improve the allocation system, including alternative approaches that could be used.

The facilitators have provided their final report to the government, which is available on the facilitators' website at allocationreview.ca.

The Ministry of Finance is currently reviewing the facilitators' final report and carefully considering each of the recommendations.

Background

Under section 87 of the Indian Act (Canada), the personal property of a registered (Status) Indian situated on a reserve is exempt from taxation. In recognition of this exemption, the provincial Tobacco Tax Act (act) and regulations authorize Ontario's First Nations Cigarette Allocation System (allocation system). Under the allocation system, First Nations individuals may buy allocation cigarettes on a reserve, for their exclusive use, that are exempt from Ontario tobacco tax. The allocation system is sometimes called the cigarette quota.

Summary of the allocation system

Each year, the Ministry of Finance (ministry) calculates the total quantity, for each reserve, of allocation cigarettes that ministry‑authorized tobacco wholesalers are permitted to deliver to ministry‑authorized reserve retailers for the allocation year. The allocation year runs from April 1 to March 31.

The Elected Council or, in some cases, the ministry, then allots a portion of the reserve's total allocation to each of the ministry‑authorized retailers on that reserve.

Allocation cigarettes have the federal peach‑coloured stamp on the package. Ontario tobacco tax has not been accounted for on allocation cigarettes.

During the allocation year, each ministry‑authorized reserve retailer may order allocation cigarettes from their designated ministry‑authorized tobacco wholesaler up to the maximum of the on‑reserve retailer's allotment (quota amount). The on‑reserve retailers must sell allocation cigarettes only to First Nations individuals who are buying the allocation cigarettes on a reserve for their exclusive use.

Allocation cigarettes – more detail

Allocation cigarette packages have a federal peach‑coloured stamp. Ontario's tobacco tax has not been accounted for on the cigarettes.

The federal peach‑coloured stamp became mandatory on all tobacco products in Canada, effective April 1, 2011. Before this, allocation cigarettes had federal peach‑coloured tear‑tape. As a transitional measure, existing allocation cigarette inventories with tear‑tape already in the market may be sold until liquidated.

Allocation cigarettes are required to be supplied only by tobacco wholesalers registered with the ministry and authorized by the ministry to sell allocation cigarettes in certain quantities. Those wholesalers must deliver allocation cigarettes to the reserve and only to retailers on reserve that have been authorized by the ministry to sell allocation cigarettes. Wholesalers must not deliver more allocation cigarettes than the reserve retailer's allotment of allocation.

Some cigarettes with peach stamp are illegal

Where cigarette packages with the federal, peach‑coloured stamp have been distributed without complying with all the requirements of the allocation system, the cigarettes are illegal. There are penalties and fines for the possession, distribution, purchase or sale of such cigarettes.

How the allocation system works

Allocation system

The purpose of the allocation system is to ensure that there are enough allocation cigarettes for purchase on a reserve by adult members of the band for their own consumption. The allocation system takes into account:

  • on‑reserve and off‑reserve populations of First Nations adults (as reported yearly by Indian and Northern Affairs Canada)
  • smoking patterns of First Nations individuals
  • special events on the reserve.

Allocation options

Under the allocation system, the Elected Council has the opportunity to:

  • obtain an increase in the annual base allocation of 10 per cent for special events and sales to First Nations consumers who are not members of the reserve, and
  • enter into a retail agreement with the ministry which entitles Elected Council to obtain an increase in their reserve's annual base allocation of 20 per cent. Upon entering into a retail agreement, Elected Council agrees to:
    • allot allocation to reserve retailers and advise the ministry of the allotments it has made
    • monitor the sales of allocation cigarettes to ensure that sales are made only to First Nations consumers
    • change the allotment of allocation previously made to on‑reserve retailers, and
    • cancel an on‑reserve retailer's allotment and transfer the unpurchased portion to another on‑reserve retailer.

Where an Elected Council does not sign a retail agreement, the ministry divides the reserve's total allocation between the ministry authorized retailers on that reserve. The ministry considers the number of on‑reserve retailers and their volume of business. If the ministry does not know their volume of business, it divides the allocation evenly.

Authorized wholesalers

Each authorized on‑reserve retailer is notified of their allotment of allocation for the allocation year before April 1. The retailer selects a ministry‑authorized wholesaler as the supplier of allocation cigarettes. The ministry notifies that wholesaler of the quantity of allocation cigarettes it may sell to that on‑reserve retailer. The supplier must deliver the allocation cigarettes to the on‑reserve retailer at their retail location on reserve.

Authorized retailers

Selling cigarettes

On‑reserve retailers (who have been authorized by the minister to buy allocation cigarettes) must sell allocation cigarettes to First Nations individuals only. First Nations individuals must buy allocation cigarettes on reserve and only for their exclusive use. It is illegal to sell allocation cigarettes to non‑First Nations individuals.

Possession of allocation cigarettes

On‑reserve retailers (who have been authorized by the Minister of Finance to buy allocation cigarettes) must not possess more allocation cigarettes than they are authorized by the ministry to purchase. Retailers who have not been authorized by the minister to buy allocation cigarettes must not possess any allocation cigarettes.

Definitions

Allocation cigarettes

Allocation cigarettes have a federal peach‑coloured stamp around the package and peach‑coloured indicia on each end of the carton. They are to be purchased from wholesalers that have a valid authorization issued by the ministry. Only First Nations individuals may be sold tax‑exempt cigarettes.

Ontario's tobacco tax has not been accounted for on the cigarettes in packages with the federal peach‑coloured stamp.

Allocation year

Allocation year means the one year period from April 1 to March 31.

First Nations individual

For the purposes of the allocation system, a First Nations individual is a person who qualifies as an Indian under the federal Indian Act and who may be in possession of one of the following documents issued by the federal Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada:

  • Certificate of Indian Status Card (Status Card)
  • Temporary Confirmation of Registration Document
  • Secure Certificate of Indian Status.

This does not include Métis people, Inuit or Indians from the United States, as they do not meet the definition of Indian under the federal legislation.

Marked cigarettes

Marked cigarettes are packages of cigarettes that have a yellow Ontario adapted federal stamp. The presence of Ontario's yellow stamp on the package of cigarettes indicates that Ontario's tobacco tax has been taken into account.

Marked cigarettes are not part of the allocation system. There is no refund of tobacco tax on cigarettes that have Ontario's yellow stamp.

Reserve

Reserve is land that qualifies as reserve land under the federal Indian Act.

Reserve retailer

A reserve retailer is a retail dealer located on a reserve that, in the ordinary course of its business, sells tobacco to First Nations individuals.

Request for written interpretations

To obtain a written interpretation on a specific situation, please send your request in writing to:

Ministry of Finance
Advisory Services
33 King Street West, 3rd Floor
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

For more information

Visit ontario.ca/tobaccotax or contact the Ministry of Finance at 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) or 1‑800‑263‑7776 for teletypewriter (TTY).

Page: 615  |

Système d’attribution de cigarettes aux Premières Nations

Cette page expose le système d'attribution de cigarettes aux Premières Nations en Ontario, tel que décrit dans le Règlement 649/93 de l'Ontario (Règl. de l'Ont. 649/93) pris en application de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. Elle fournit des informations générales seulement et ne remplace aucunement la Loi ou les règlements afférents.

Mise en oeuvre du processus d'Examen du système d'attribution de cigarettes aux Premières Nations

En 2015, le gouvernement a amorcé l'Examen du système d'attribution de cigarettes aux Premières Nations, qui a été effectué par deux spécialistes indépendants Kathleen Lickers et Peter Griffin.

Ces derniers avaient pour mission de se concerter avec les communautés des Premières Nations et leurs dirigeants, ainsi que d'autres intervenants clés comme des spécialistes de l'industrie et du domaine de la santé publique. Ils devaient collecter des informations et les perspectives, et soumettre des options au gouvernement quant aux moyens de moderniser et d'améliorer le système d'attribution, notamment de nouvelles approches qui pourraient être adoptées.

Mme Lickers et M. Griffin ont remis leur rapport au gouvernement. Le rapport peut être consulté sur leur site Web : allocationreview.ca.

Le ministère des Finances est en train d'examiner le rapport final soumis et d'étudier attentivement chacune des recommandations proposées.

Renseignements généraux

En vertu de l'article 87 de la Loi sur les Indiens (Canada), les biens meubles d'un Indien (inscrit) situés sur une réserve sont exempts de taxation. Afin de refléter cette exemption, la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac (la Loi) et les règlements afférents autorisent un système d'attribution de cigarettes (système d'attribution) dans le cas des Premières Nations de l'Ontario, qui permet aux membres d'une Première nation d'acheter des cigarettes sur une réserve, pour leur usage exclusif, exemptées de la taxe ontarienne sur le tabac. Ce système d'attribution est également parfois désigné sous l'appellation de quota de cigarettes.

Description sommaire du système d'attribution

Chaque année, le ministère des Finances (le ministère) calcule, pour chaque réserve, la quantité totale de cigarettes attribuées que les grossistes de tabac autorisés par le ministère ont le droit de livrer à des détaillants autorisés par le ministère et établis sur une réserve, durant l'année d'attribution, laquelle s'étend du 1er avril au 31 mars. Le conseil élu, ou dans certains cas le ministère, répartit alors une partie de la quantité totale attribuée à la réserve entre les détaillants autorisés par le ministère et établis sur cette réserve.

Les cigarettes sanctionnées par le système d'attribution se présentent dans un paquet portant le timbre de couleur pêche du fédéral. La taxe ontarienne sur le tabac n'a pas été perçue sur les cigarettes ainsi attribuées.

Pendant l'année d'attribution, chaque détaillant autorisé par le ministère et établi sur une réserve peut commander des cigarettes attribuées auprès de son grossiste de tabac désigné, autorisé par le ministère, jusqu'à concurrence de la quantité maximum attribuée aux détaillants de la réserve (quota). Ces derniers doivent vendre les cigarettes attribuées uniquement à des membres d'une Première nation qui achètent telles cigarettes sur une réserve pour leur usage exclusif.

Attribution de cigarettes – plus de précisions

Les paquets de cigarettes attribuées portent un timbre de couleur pêche émis par le fédéral. La taxe ontarienne sur le tabac n'a pas été perçue sur les cigarettes.

Le timbre de couleur pêche du fédéral est devenu obligatoire sur tous les produits du tabac destinés au marché canadien le 1er avril 2011. Auparavant, les paquets de cigarettes attribuées portaient la languette de couleur pêche du fédéral. Une mesure de transition permet la liquidation des stocks de cigarettes attribuées qui sont déjà sur le marché dans des paquets portant la languette.

Les cigarettes attribuées doivent être fournies exclusivement par des grossistes de produits de tabac inscrits auprès du ministère et autorisés par ce dernier à vendre telles cigarettes, en respectant des quantités bien définies. Ces grossistes doivent livrer les cigarettes attribuées sur une réserve et uniquement à des détaillants de la réserve ayant été autorisés par le ministère à vendre de telles cigarettes. Les grossistes ne peuvent livrer plus de cigarettes attribuées que la quantité prévue pour les détaillants de la réserve.

Certaines cigarettes portant un timbre de couleur pêche sont illégales

Si des paquets de cigarettes portant le timbre de couleur pêche du fédéral sont distribués sans que toutes les conditions applicables au système d'attribution ne soient respectées, les cigarettes sont alors illégales. Des pénalités et amendes sont imposées pour possession, distribution, achat ou vente de telles cigarettes.

Comment fonctionne le système d'attribution

Système d'attribution

Le système d'attribution a pour objet d'assurer la distribution d'une quantité de cigarettes attribuées suffisante pour les membres adultes de la bande qui en achètent pour leur propre consommation. Ce système tient compte des facteurs suivants :

  • la population d'adultes de Premières Nations sur la réserve et en dehors de la réserve (selon les statistiques annuelles rapportées par Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada)
  • les habitudes de fumer des membres des Premières Nations
  • les événements spéciaux sur la réserve.

Options d'attribution

Selon le système d'attribution, le conseil élu d'une bande d'une Première Nation peut :

  • obtenir une augmentation de 10 pour cent de la quantité annuelle de base pour des événements spéciaux et des ventes à des membres d'une Première Nation qui ne sont pas membres de la réserve
  • obtenir une augmentation de 20 pour cent de la quantité annuelle de base en concluant une entente de vente au détail avec le ministère selon laquelle le conseil élu consent à :
    • répartir la quantité autorisée de cigarettes attribuées entre chaque détaillant sur la réserve et informer le ministère de l'attribution effectuée
    • effectuer un suivi afin de s'assurer que les cigarettes sont vendues uniquement à des membres d'une Première Nation
    • modifier la quantité précédemment attribuée aux détaillants situés sur la réserve, et
    • annuler la quantité attribuée à un détaillant de la réserve et transférer les stocks non vendus à un autre détaillant de la réserve.

Lorsqu'un conseil élu ne signe pas d'entente en matière de vente au détail, le ministère répartit la quantité attribuée à la réserve entre les détaillants autorisés par le ministère sur cette réserve. Le ministère prend en considération le nombre de détaillants et le volume de vente de chacun. Si le ministère ne connaît pas les volumes de vente, les stocks sont répartis également.

Grossistes autorisés

Chaque détaillant établi sur une réserve est informé de la quantité qui lui a été attribuée pour l'année d'attribution au plus tard le 1er avril. Le détaillant choisit alors un grossiste autorisé par le ministère comme son fournisseur de cigarettes attribuées. Le ministère informe ensuite ce grossiste de la quantité de cigarettes attribuées qu'il peut vendre à ce détaillant de la réserve. Enfin, le fournisseur doit livrer les cigarettes attribuées au détaillant de la réserve à son établissement situé sur la réserve.

Détaillants autorisés

Vente de cigarettes

Les détaillants de la réserve (autorisés par le ministre à acheter des cigarettes attribuées) doivent vendre ces cigarettes uniquement à des membres d'une Première Nation. À leur tour, ces derniers doivent acheter telles cigarettes attribuées sur la réserve et pour leur usage exclusif seulement. Il est illégal de vendre des cigarettes attribuées à toute personne qui n'est pas membre d'une Première Nation.

Possession de cigarettes attribuées

Les détaillants de la réserve (autorisés par le ministre des Finances à acheter des cigarettes attribuées) ne peuvent avoir en leur possession plus de cigarettes attribuées que la quantité qu'ils sont autorisés à acheter. Les détaillants n'ayant pas été autorisés par le ministre à acheter des cigarettes attribuées ne doivent avoir aucune cigarette attribuée en leur possession.

Définitions

Cigarettes attribuées

Les cigarettes attribuées se présentent dans un paquet portant un timbre de couleur pêche du fédéral et une marque distinctive à chacune des extrémités de la cartouche. On doit s'en procurer auprès des grossistes possédant une autorisation valide émise par le ministère. Seuls les membres d'une Première Nation peuvent acheter des cigarettes exemptées de taxe.

La taxe ontarienne sur le tabac n'a pas été acquittée dans le cas des paquets de cigarettes portant le timbre de couleur pêche du fédéral.

Année d'attribution

L'année d'attribution correspond à une période d'un an allant du 1er avril au 31 mars.

Membre d'une Première Nation

Aux fins de ce système d'attribution, un membre d'une Première Nation s'entend de toute personne considérée comme un(e) Indien(ne) au titre de la Loi sur les Indiens (fédérale) et qui peut être en possession de l'un des documents suivants émis par Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada :

  • Certificat de statut d'Indien – Carte d'identité
  • Document de confirmation temporaire de l'inscription
  • Certificat sécurisé de statut d'Indien.

Les Métis, Inuits ou Indiens des États‑Unis n'entrent pas dans cette catégorie, car ils ne sont pas compris dans la définition d'Indien aux termes de la loi fédérale.

Cigarettes marquées

Les cigarettes marquées se présentent dans des paquets portant une estampille fédérale jaune adaptée pour l'Ontario. La présence de cette estampille jaune sur le paquet de cigarettes indique que la taxe ontarienne sur le tabac a été acquittée.

Les cigarettes marquées ne font pas partie du système d'attribution. Aucun remboursement de la taxe sur le tabac n'est accordé sur des cigarettes portant l'estampille jaune de l'Ontario.

Réserve

Une réserve s'entend d'une terre de réserve aux termes de la Loi sur les Indiens (fédérale).

Détaillant établi sur une réserve

Par détaillant établi sur une réserve, il faut entendre un détaillant situé sur une réserve et qui, dans le courant de ses activités commerciales habituelles, vend des produits de tabac à des membres d'une Première Nation.

Interprétation écrite

Pour obtenir une interprétation écrite d'une situation, veuillez en faire la demande par écrit au :

Ministère des Finances
Services consultatifs
33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

Pour plus de renseignements

Visitez ontario.ca/taxesurletabac ou communiquez avec le ministère des Finances à 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) ou 1‑800‑263‑7776 pour l'appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS).

Page : 615  |