Raw Leaf Tobacco Program Information for Producers

For the purposes of the Raw Leaf Tobacco Program, raw leaf tobacco includes all varieties of unmanufactured tobacco, grown in or brought into Ontario, including flue‑cured, dark‑fire‑cured/dark‑air‑cured (also known as black) and burley tobacco.

The Ministry of Finance regulates raw leaf tobacco in Ontario, whether or not the raw leaf tobacco is grown in Ontario.

For information relating to raw leaf tobacco activities other than growing, please refer to Raw Leaf Tobacco Program Information.

Requirement to register as a raw leaf tobacco producer

Registration certificates required to produce and sell raw leaf tobacco

The Ministry of Finance's Raw Leaf Tobacco Program commenced on January 1, 2015. Under the Raw Leaf Tobacco Program, the Ministry will be issuing registration certificates and carrying out inspections and investigations as required. If you were previously a registered grower under the Ontario Flue‑Cured Tobacco Growers' Marketing Board, you will now require a registration certificate from the Ministry of Finance to grow raw leaf tobacco. No fees will be payable to the Ministry of Finance in respect of the issuance of a registration certificate.

The Tobacco Tax Act requires all entities involved in the raw leaf tobacco industry to hold a registration certificate issued by the Ministry of Finance, and to deal only with other entities that hold the appropriate registration certificate issued under the Tobacco Tax Act. The Ministry of Finance maintains a listing of raw leaf tobacco registrants.

Starting January 1, 2015, unless you fall under an exemption category described below, you must have a Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate under the Tobacco Tax Act if you:

  • plant or grow tobacco plants, or
  • harvest, cure, bale or package raw leaf tobacco.

If you plan to sell the tobacco that you grow, you must also have a Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate before you sell, offer to sell, or keep for sale raw leaf tobacco.

If you do any of these activities without holding the required registration certificate(s), your raw leaf tobacco may be seized and you may have to pay fines and penalties.

Exemptions

A Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate is not needed in the following circumstances:

  • If you are an individual and you are producing no more than 15 kilograms of raw leaf tobacco per year for your own personal use and not for sale.
  • If you are a university or college of applied arts and technology and you are producing raw leaf tobacco for use in teaching and research (does not apply agronomic research related to the manufacturing of tobacco products).
  • If you are producing raw leaf tobacco using seeds with a novel trait (within the meaning of the Seeds Act (Canada)).

How to get a Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate

Complete and submit an Application to Register - Raw Leaf Tobacco to the Ministry of Finance to register under the Raw Leaf Tobacco Program.

An Application to Register - Raw Leaf Tobacco only needs to be made once, so long as the applicant remains compliant under the Tobacco Tax Act and their raw leaf activities remain the same. If your business changes and you require additional registration certificates, you must complete an Application to Register - Raw Leaf Tobacco for the specific registration certificate required before starting that new raw leaf tobacco activity.

If you plan to sell the raw leaf tobacco that you produce, also register as a Dealer by using the same Application to Register - Raw Leaf Tobacco form. The Ministry of Finance will send you an Application to Produce, and if you meet the criteria:

  • Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate, and
  • Evidence of Contract for Purchase form.

To get a Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate, you must complete an Application to Produce form and an Evidence of Contract for Purchase form. Send them to the Ministry of Finance at least thirty (30) days before you plant.

  1. Application to Produce

    This form outlines your planned production for the current year, including information on the land you will use to plant and grow tobacco.

  2. Evidence of Contract for Purchase

    This form summarizes the arrangement you have with the buyer of the tobacco that you will be producing. It includes information on the land that will be used to fulfill your contract.

You can only sell or offer to sell raw leaf tobacco to a person who has a Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate, a Raw Leaf Tobacco Exporter Registration Certificate or a Tobacco Manufacturer Registration Certificate under the Tobacco Tax Act. You can check who is registered by visiting the Ministry of Finance's website.

Note: The Ministry asks that the Evidence of Contract for Purchase form be signed by both you and the person who has agreed to buy the raw leaf tobacco from you. Producers need to complete and send in a separate Evidence of Contract for Purchase form for every buyer. If you have raw leaf tobacco in your inventory at the end of the production year that you need to carry over to the following year, you must submit a completed Evidence of Contract for Purchase for contracts entered into with a purchaser of your carry over tobacco. Send these to the Ministry of Finance with your Application to Produce form.

If you are only producing raw leaf tobacco for agronomic research or manufacture of your own tobacco products, the Application to Produce form is replaced by the Application to Produce for Agronomic Research form or the Application to Produce for Own Use in the Manufacture of Tobacco Products form as the case may be. In these situations, an Evidence of Contract for Purchase form does not need to be completed.

Producer registration certificates have conditions and must be applied for yearly

You are required to complete an Application to Produce form prior to planting raw leaf tobacco each year. You will receive this application each year for you to complete and submit to the Ministry of Finance.

If you meet the prescribed criteria, the Ministry of Finance will issue you a Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate. This certificate allows you to produce raw leaf tobacco in Ontario for the current production year. It will have conditions and restrictions, such as where you are authorized to plant tobacco and a limit to the number of acres being planted. Producers who exceed the limit may be penalized or fined.

The Tobacco Tax Act provides for penalties and fines for producers who plant more than permitted on their producer registration certificate. Additionally, inspectors may seize raw leaf tobacco not yet harvested and may allow the producer to cut down the raw leaf tobacco not yet harvested. Ministry inspectors may require that the cut down is supervised. All cut downs by the producer is at the risk and expense of the producer. If the Ministry of Finance seizes and disposes of the raw leaf tobacco, it may recover any costs of removal or disposal from the producer.

The Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate is valid for the current year only. You must apply for a new Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate every year that you plan to produce raw leaf tobacco by completing an Application to Produce form.

Refusal to issue a registration certificate

If the Ministry of Finance intends to refuse to issue a registration certificate, you have the opportunity under the Tobacco Tax Act to request a show‑cause hearing with the Ministry of Finance to allow you to raise your concerns and request a re‑evaluation of your application.

Reporting requirements of raw leaf tobacco producers

You must let the Ministry of Finance know about any changes to the name or nature of your business and your raw leaf tobacco activities as soon as the change happens. You must also give the Ministry of Finance the information below.

Acreage confirmation

On the Acreage Confirmation form, confirm (by sketch) the locations of the lands where you have planted tobacco plants and the facilities that you will use for curing and storing tobacco. The Acreage Confirmation form is sent by the Ministry of Finance in March of each year to all producers.

You must complete and send in the Acreage Confirmation form within ten (10) days of when you finished planting. Acreage Confirmation forms must be received no later than June 15 of each year.

Raw leaf tobacco return and schedule(s)

You must report your raw leaf tobacco activities by completing and sending in a Raw Leaf Tobacco Return to the Ministry of Finance.

The information that must be reported includes:

  • how much raw leaf tobacco you have in inventory at the start of the reporting period including any carry over tobacco from the previous production year
  • how much raw leaf tobacco you have produced since the last reporting period
  • how much raw leaf tobacco you have sold and who you sold it to
  • any adjustments to raw leaf tobacco quantity you have in inventory and the reason for the adjustment, and
  • how much raw leaf tobacco you have in inventory at the end of the reporting period, including any carry over tobacco at the end of a production year.

If you are a producer who is authorized only to sell raw leaf tobacco that you produce and to sell that tobacco only in Ontario, your reporting period is quarterly. You must file the returns by the 10th day of the month after the end of the quarter. The quarters end March 31, June 30, September 30 and December 31.

You do not need to complete and file the return if, in a quarter, you do not expect to cure, keep for sale or sell any raw leaf tobacco. Advance written notice to the Ministry of Finance is required.

Your reporting period and filing frequency may change if you engage in other raw leaf tobacco activities. For example, if you export raw leaf tobacco, you will report and file monthly.

Notice of intent to destroy

At this time, you are not required to notify the Ministry of Finance before destroying waste green leaf tobacco that will not be cured because it is unfit for sale.

You are required to notify the ministry at least three (3) days before you intend to destroy raw leaf tobacco that has been cured. You can call at 1‑866‑668‑8297 extension 16160 or email RLT@ontario.ca. If you contact by email please indicate Waste notification in the email subject line.

You must provide:

  • the date of the planned destruction
  • the current location of the raw leaf tobacco to be destroyed and the location where it is to be destroyed
  • the quantity and type of raw leaf tobacco to be destroyed
  • the method of destruction, and
  • the reason for the destruction.

Additionally, you are required to keep a record of raw leaf tobacco that has been cured but has not been baled within 24 hours of being removed from the kiln or barn. This raw leaf must be kept in a distinct pile or it can be spread on a field so long as it can be visually verified by an inspector.

Your records must document:

  • the reason why the raw leaf tobacco was not baled or packaged within 24 hours of being removed from the kiln or barn
  • the kiln number or the barn number in which the raw leaf tobacco was cured, and
  • an estimate of the weight of the cured raw leaf tobacco in the pile.

Stolen Raw Leaf Tobacco or Damaged Crops

In the case of theft of raw leaf tobacco or crop damage, producers are asked to promptly contact the Ministry of Finance by calling 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) extension 16160 so that the details of the occurrence may be documented and verified. Supporting documentation may include a copy of any police report or insurance report.

Actual yield confirmation

If you produced raw leaf tobacco to sell, you must complete and send in the Actual Yield Confirmation form to the Ministry of Finance within thirty (30) days of your final delivery to the last buyer you produced raw leaf tobacco for under the Evidence of Contract for Purchase form(s) for the current crop year. An Actual Yield Confirmation form will be automatically sent by the Ministry of Finance to all producers.

If you do not produce raw leaf tobacco for sale, you must complete and submit the Actual Yield Confirmation to the Ministry of Finance as soon as you can.

Transporting raw leaf tobacco

Registration certificate required for transporting raw leaf tobacco

Any person who transports raw leaf tobacco in Ontario must have a registration certificate for the raw leaf activities in which they engage or be transporting the raw leaf tobacco on behalf of such a person. If you transport raw leaf tobacco in Ontario without crossing provincial or international borders, you do not need a separate registration certificate to transport the raw leaf tobacco.

Whenever raw leaf tobacco is transported by an interjurisdictional transporter, the transporter must carry a true copy of their interjurisdictional transporter registration certificate.

Please see Changes to the Raw Leaf Tobacco for more information on transporting requirements and consequences of non‑compliance.

Inspection and compliance

Failure to comply can result in suspension and cancellation

Ministry of Finance officials are authorized to inspect any land used to grow tobacco and any inventory of raw leaf tobacco. This includes measuring the land used to grow tobacco, and inspecting barns, cutting locations and warehouses where your tobacco is stored – both onsite and offsite.

Ministry of Finance officials may seize the raw leaf tobacco from anyone not in compliance with the Tobacco Tax Act. In certain circumstances, you will receive a written notice prior to the Ministry of Finance seizing your raw leaf tobacco. If you receive a written notice that the Ministry of Finance intends to seize your raw leaf tobacco, you may make a written request within 5 days of receiving that notice to have a hearing to explain why the Ministry of Finance should not seize the tobacco.

Your raw leaf tobacco registration certificate(s) may be suspended or cancelled for many reasons, including:

  • providing false or misleading information
  • breaching your conditions and restrictions, or
  • otherwise not complying with the Tobacco Tax Act.

If the Ministry of Finance intends to suspend or cancel your registration certificate, under the Tobacco Tax Act you have the opportunity to request a show‑cause hearing with the Ministry of Finance to allow you to raise your concerns and request a re‑evaluation of the Ministry of Finance's intention.

Request for written interpretations

To obtain a written interpretation on a specific situation not addressed in this publication, please send your request in writing to: Ministry of Finance, Advisory Services - Tobacco Tax, 33 King Street West, 3rd Floor, Oshawa ON L1H 8H5.

Recommended for you

Page: 3280  |

Renseignements sur le Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles à l'intention des producteurs

Aux fins du programme, le tabac en feuilles comprend toutes les variétés de tabac non fabriqué, cultivé ou introduit en Ontario, notamment le tabac jaune, le tabac noir séché au feu/tabac noir séché à l'air naturel (aussi connu sous le nom de tabac noir), et le tabac Burley.

En Ontario, le tabac en feuilles est réglementé par le ministère des Finances, qu'il soit ou non cultivé en Ontario.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur des activités liées au tabac en feuilles autres que la culture, consultez la fiche intitulée Renseignements sur le Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles.

Exigence de s'inscrire à titre de producteur de tabac en feuilles

Certificats d'inscription requis pour produire et vendre du tabac en feuilles

Le programme du ministère des Finances relatif au tabac en feuilles a débuté le 1er janvier 2015. En vertu de ce programme, le ministère délivrera des certificats d'inscription et effectuera des inspections ainsi que des enquêtes selon les besoins. Si vous étiez auparavant inscrit en tant que producteur auprès de la Commission ontarienne de commercialisation du tabac jaune, vous devrez désormais détenir un certificat d'inscription émis par le ministère des Finances afin de pouvoir cultiver du tabac en feuilles. Aucuns frais ne seront imputés pour la délivrance d'un certificat d'inscription par le ministère des Finances.

La Loi de la taxe sur le tabac stipule que toutes les entités exerçant des activités dans l'industrie du tabac en feuilles doivent détenir un certificat d'inscription délivré par le ministère des Finances, et ne peuvent traiter qu'avec d'autres entités détenant le certificat d'inscription approprié émis en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. Le ministère des Finances tient un registre de toutes les personnes et entreprises inscrites au titre du tabac en feuilles.

À compter du 1er janvier 2015, à moins que vous fassiez partie de l'une des catégories d'exemption précisées ci‑dessous, vous devrez être titulaire d'un certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac si vous :

  • plantez ou cultivez des plants de tabac, ou
  • récoltez, faites sécher ou mettez en ballots ou en paquets du tabac en feuilles.

Si vous prévoyez vendre le tabac que vous cultivez, vous devrez également posséder un certificat d'inscription de marchand de tabac en feuilles valide avant de pouvoir vendre, mettre en vente ou garder pour la vente du tabac en feuilles.

Si vous exercez l'une ou l'autre de ces activités sans détenir le(s) certificat(s) d'inscription requis, votre tabac en feuilles pourra faire l'objet d'une saisie et vous pourriez avoir à payer des amendes et pénalités.

Exemptions

Un Certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles n'est pas requis dans les cas suivants :

  • Si vous êtes un particulier et que vous ne produisez pas plus de 15 kilogrammes de tabac en feuilles par année pour votre usage personnel et non à des fins de revente
  • Si vous êtes une université ou un collège d'arts appliqués et de technologie et que vous produisez du tabac en feuilles à des fins de recherche ou d'enseignement (ne s'applique pas à la recherche agronomique liée à la fabrication de produits du tabac).
  • Si vous produisez du tabac en feuilles à partir de semences dotées d'un caractère nouveau [au sens de la Loi sur les semences (Canada)].

Comment obtenir un certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles

Pour vous inscrire en vertu du Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles, vous devez remplir une Demande d'inscription – Tabac en feuilles et le soumettre au ministère des Finances.

Une Demande d'inscription – Tabac en feuilles n'est requise qu'une seule fois, pourvu que le requérant continue de respecter les exigences de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac et que ses activités liées au tabac en feuilles demeurent les mêmes. Si des changements surviennent dans votre entreprise et que vous avez besoin d'autres certificats d'inscription, vous devrez alors remplir et soumettre une autre Demande d'inscription – Tabac en feuilles relativement au certificat d'inscription requis, et ce, avant d'entreprendre la nouvelle activité liée au tabac en feuilles.

Si vous prévoyez vendre le tabac en feuilles que vous produisez, vous devrez également vous inscrire en tant que marchand au moyen du même formulaire de Demande d'inscription – Tabac en feuilles. Le ministère des Finances vous enverra une Demande de production, et si vous répondez aux critères applicables, vous recevrez également les documents suivants :

  • Certificat d'inscription de marchand de tabac en feuilles, et
  • Preuve de contrat d'achat.

Pour obtenir un Certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles, vous devez remplir une Demande de production ainsi qu'une Preuve de contrat d'achat. Envoyez le tout au ministère des Finances au moins trente (30) jours avant de commencer vos activités de plantation.

  1. Demande de production

    Ce formulaire décrit votre production prévue pour l'année en cours, et comprend des renseignements sur les terres que vous comptez utiliser pour planter et cultiver du tabac.

  2. Preuve de contrat d'achat

    Ce formulaire résume l'entente que vous avez conclue avec l'acheteur du tabac que vous produirez. Il comprend des renseignements sur les terres que vous utiliserez pour vous acquitter de votre contrat.

Vous pouvez vendre ou mettre en vente du tabac en feuilles uniquement auprès d'une personne qui détient un Certificat d'inscription de marchand – Tabac en feuilles, un Certificat d'inscription d'exportateur – Tabac en feuilles ou un Certificat d'inscription de fabricant de tabac en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. Vous pouvez vérifier si une personne est inscrite en consultant le site Web du ministère des Finances.

Remarque : Le ministère demande que la Preuve de contrat d'achat soit signée par vous et par la personne ayant convenu d'acheter le tabac en feuilles que vous produirez. Les producteurs doivent remplir et envoyer une Preuve de contrat d'achat pour chaque acheteur. Si, à la fin de l'année de production, vous avez du tabac en feuilles en stock que vous devez reporter à l'année suivante, vous devrez soumettre une Preuve de contrat d'achat pour les contrats conclus avec un acheteur de vos stocks de tabac reportés. Faites parvenir le tout au ministère des Finances avec votre Demande de production.

Si vous produisez du tabac en feuilles uniquement à des fins de recherche en agronomie ou fabriquez vos propres produits du tabac, la Demande de production est remplacée par la Demande de production de tabac en feuilles à des fins de recherche en agronomie ou la Demande de production de tabac en feuilles pour usage personnel dans la fabrication de produits du tabac, selon le cas. Et il n'est alors pas nécessaire dans tels cas de remplir une Preuve de contrat d'achat.

Les certificats d'inscription de producteur comportent certaines conditions et doivent être remplis chaque année

Vous devez remplir une Demande de production de tabac en feuilles chaque année avant de commencer vos activités de plantation. Cette demande vous sera envoyée chaque année afin que vous puissiez la remplir et la retourner au ministère des Finances.

Si vous répondez aux critères établis, le ministère des Finances vous enverra un Certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles. Ce certificat vous permettra de produire du tabac en feuilles en Ontario pour l'année de production courante. Certaines conditions et restrictions s'appliqueront, notamment le lieu où vous êtes autorisé à planter du tabac et le nombre d’acres sur lesquels vous pouvez cultiver. Les producteurs qui dépassent cette limite pourraient se voir imposer des pénalités ou des amendes.

La Loi de la taxe sur le tabac prévoit des pénalités et des amendes pour les producteurs qui cultivent plus que permis selon leur Certificat d’inscription de producteur. De plus, les inspecteurs peuvent saisir le tabac en feuilles qui n’a pas encore été récolté et peuvent permettre au producteur de le couper. Les inspecteurs du ministère pourraient exiger que cette coupe soit supervisée. Toutes les coupes faites par le producteur le sont à ses risques et dépenses. Si le ministère des Finances saisit et détruit du tabac en feuilles, il peut recouvrer tous les coûts relatifs à cette saisie et destruction du producteur.

Le Certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles est valide uniquement pour l'année en cours. Chaque année, si vous comptez produire du tabac en feuilles, vous devrez demander un nouveau Certificat d'inscription de producteur – Tabac en feuilles en remplissant une Demande de production.

Refus de délivrer un certificat d'inscription

Si le ministère des Finances refuse de vous délivrer un certificat d'inscription, vous pouvez, en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, solliciter une audience auprès du ministère afin d'exposer les raisons de votre désaccord et demander une réévaluation de votre demande.

Exigences de déclaration pour les producteurs de tabac en feuilles

Vous devez informer immédiatement le ministère des Finances de tout changement survenu dans le nom ou la nature de votre entreprise ou de vos activités au titre du tabac en feuilles. Vous devez également fournir au ministère les renseignements suivants.

Confirmation de superficie

Sur le formulaire de Confirmation de superficie, confirmez (au moyen d'un croquis) l'emplacement des terres où vous avez planté des plants de tabac ainsi que des installations qui serviront au séchage et à l'entreposage du tabac. Le ministère des Finances envoie le formulaire de Confirmation de superficie à tous les producteurs en mars de chaque année.

Vous devez remplir et envoyer le formulaire de Confirmation de superficie au plus tard dix (10) jours après avoir planté les plants de tabac. Les formulaires de Confirmation de superficie doivent parvenir au ministère au plus tard le 15 juin de chaque année.

Déclaration et annexe(s) sur le tabac en feuilles

Vous devez déclarer vos activités au titre du tabac en feuilles en remplissant une Déclaration de tabac en feuilles et en l'envoyant au ministère des Finances.

Vous devez entre autres fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • quantité de tabac en feuilles détenue en stock au début de la période de déclaration, y compris tout tabac reporté de l'année de production précédente
  • quantité de tabac en feuilles produite depuis la dernière période de déclaration
  • quantité de tabac en feuilles vendue et à qui vous l'avez vendue
  • tout rajustement apporté à la quantité de tabac en feuilles détenue en stock ainsi que la raison du rajustement, et
  • quantité de tabac en feuilles détenue en stock à la fin de la période de déclaration, y compris tout tabac reporté à la fin d'une année de production.

Si vous êtes un producteur uniquement autorisé à vendre le tabac en feuilles que vous produisez et à vendre votre tabac en Ontario seulement, vous êtes soumis à une période de déclaration trimestrielle. Vous devez produire vos déclarations au plus tard le 10 du mois suivant la fin du trimestre. Les trimestres se terminent le 31 mars, le 30 juin, le 30 septembre et le 31 décembre.

Vous ne devez pas remplir et produire de déclaration si, au cours d'un trimestre, vous ne prévoyez pas faire sécher, garder pour la vente ou vendre du tabac en feuilles. Dans ce cas, vous devez envoyer un préavis écrit au ministère des Finances.

Votre période de déclaration ainsi que votre fréquence de production peuvent changer si vous commencez à exercer une autre activité liée au tabac en feuilles. Par exemple, si vous exportez du tabac en feuilles, vous devrez produire des déclarations mensuelles.

Avis d'intention de détruire

À l'heure actuelle, vous n'êtes pas tenu d'aviser le ministère des Finances avant de détruire du tabac en feuilles non séché parce qu'il est impropre à la vente.

Vous devez aviser le ministère au moins trois jours avant de détruire du tabac en feuilles qui a été séché en composant le 1‑866‑668‑8297, poste 16160, ou en écrivant à RLT@ontario.ca. Si vous envoyez un courriel, veuillez indiquer Avis de déchets dans l'objet du courriel.

Vous devez fournir :

  • la date prévue de la destruction
  • l'emplacement actuel du tabac en feuilles à détruire et le lieu où la destruction aura lieu
  • la quantité et le type de tabac en feuilles à détruire
  • la méthode de destruction, et
  • la raison de cette destruction.

De plus, vous devez tenir un registre du tabac en feuilles qui a été séché, mais qui n'a pas été mis en ballot dans les 24 heures suivant son retrait du séchoir ou de la grange. Ce tabac en feuilles doit être conservé dans une pile distincte ou peut être étendu dans un champ, pourvu qu'il puisse être vérifié visuellement par un inspecteur.

Votre registre doit indiquer ce qui suit :

  • la raison pour laquelle le tabac en feuilles n'a pas été mis en ballot ou emballé dans les 24 heures suivant son retrait du séchoir ou de la grange
  • le numéro du séchoir ou de la grange où le tabac en feuilles a été séché, et
  • une estimation du poids du tabac en feuilles séché dans la pile.

Tabac en feuilles volé ou récolte endommagée

En cas de vol de tabac en feuilles ou de dommages subis par une récolte, les producteurs doivent communiquer avec le ministère des Finances dans les plus brefs délais en composant le 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) poste 16160 afin que les détails de la situation puissent être consignés et vérifiés. Les documents justificatifs requis pourraient englober un rapport de police ou un rapport d'assurance.

Confirmation du rendement réel

Si vous avez produit du tabac en feuilles afin de le vendre, vous devez remplir le formulaire de Confirmation de rendement réel et l'envoyer au ministère des Finances dans les trente (30) jours suivant votre dernière livraison au dernier acheteur pour qui vous avez produit le tabac en feuilles en vertu du/des formulaire(s) de Preuve de contrat d'achat pour l'année de production courante. Le ministère des Finances enverra automatiquement un formulaire de Confirmation de rendement réel à tous les producteurs.

Si vous ne produisez pas de tabac en feuilles à des fins de vente, vous devez remplir le formulaire de Confirmation de rendement réel et l'envoyer au ministère des Finances le plus rapidement possible.

Transport de tabac en feuilles

Certificat d'inscription requis pour le transport de tabac en feuilles

Toute personne qui transporte du tabac en feuilles en Ontario doit posséder un certificat d'inscription applicable aux activités exercées à l'égard de tel tabac en feuilles, ou transporter tel tabac en feuilles au nom d'une personne qui détient un tel certificat. Si vous transportez du tabac en feuilles en Ontario sans franchir de frontière provinciale ou internationale, vous n'avez pas besoin d'un certificat d'inscription distinct pour transporter le tabac en feuilles.

Chaque fois qu'un transporteur interterritorial transporte du tabac en feuilles, il doit avoir en sa possession une copie conforme du certificat d'inscription de transporteur interterritorial.

Veuillez consulter Modifications au Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences relatives au transport et les conséquences du non‑respect de ces exigences.

Inspection et conformité

Tout manquement à se conformer pourrait entraîner une suspension ou une révocation

Les représentants du ministère des Finances sont autorisés à examiner tout bien-fonds utilisé pour cultiver du tabac ainsi que tout stock de tabac en feuilles. Cela comprend la mesure des champs où le tabac est cultivé, et l'inspection des granges, installations de coupage et entrepôts où vous entreposez votre tabac – tant sur place qu'à un autre emplacement.

Les représentants du ministère des Finances peuvent saisir le tabac en feuilles de toute personne qui n'est pas en conformité aux exigences de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. Dans certains cas, un préavis écrit vous sera signifié avant la saisie de votre tabac en feuilles par le ministère. Si vous recevez un préavis écrit à l'effet que le ministère des Finances prévoit saisir votre tabac en feuilles, vous pouvez demander, par écrit et dans les 5 jours suivant la réception dudit préavis, la tenue d'une audience afin d'expliquer pourquoi le ministère des Finances ne devrait pas saisir le tabac.

Différentes raisons pourraient entraîner la suspension ou la révocation de votre/vos certificat(s) d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles, notamment :

  • la communication de renseignements faux ou trompeurs
  • la violation des conditions ou restrictions qui vous sont imposées, ou
  • toute autre infraction à la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac.

Si le ministère des Finances vous signifie son intention de suspendre ou de révoquer votre certificat d'inscription, vous pouvez, en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, solliciter une audience auprès du ministère afin d'exposer les raisons de votre désaccord et demander une réévaluation de son intention.

Demande d'interprétation écrite

Pour obtenir une interprétation écrite à l'égard d'une situation particulière non traitée dans le présent guide, veuillez en faire la demande par écrit au : Ministère des Finances, Services consultatifs - Taxe sur le tabac, 33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage, Oshawa ON L1H 8H5.

Sujets connexes recommandés