Raw Leaf Tobacco Program Information

For the purposes of the Raw Leaf Tobacco Program, raw leaf tobacco includes all varieties of unmanufactured tobacco grown in or brought into Ontario, including flue‑cured, dark‑fire‑cured/dark‑air‑cured (also known as black) and burley tobacco.

The Ministry of Finance regulates raw leaf tobacco in Ontario, whether or not the raw leaf tobacco is grown in Ontario.

For information specific to growing raw leaf tobacco, please refer to Raw Leaf Tobacco Program Information for Producers.

Requirement to register under the raw leaf tobacco program

Registration certificates required to conduct related raw leaf tobacco activities

The Ministry of Finance's Raw Leaf Tobacco Program commenced on January 1, 2015. Under the Raw Leaf Tobacco Program the Ministry will be issuing registration certificates and carrying out inspections and investigations as required. If you were previously a registered grower under the Ontario Flue‑Cured Tobacco Growers' Marketing Board, you will now require a registration certificate from the Ministry of Finance to grow raw leaf tobacco. No fees will be payable to the Ministry of Finance in respect of the issuance of a registration certificate.

The Tobacco Tax Act requires all entities involved in the raw leaf tobacco industry to hold a registration certificate issued by the Ministry of Finance, and to deal only with other entities that hold the appropriate registration certificate issued under the Tobacco Tax Act. The Ministry of Finance maintains a listing of raw leaf registrants.

Starting January 1, 2015, you must hold a Raw Leaf Tobacco Registration Certificate under the Tobacco Tax Act if you:

  • produce (plant, grow, harvest, cure, bale or package) raw leaf tobacco
  • process (i.e., strip, stem, thresh, re‑dry, blend, or package) raw leaf tobacco
  • sell or buy raw leaf tobacco
  • bring into or take out of Ontario (import/export) raw leaf tobacco, or
  • transport raw leaf tobacco into or out of Ontario and are not already registered with the Ministry of Finance as an inter‑jurisdictional transporter.

If you do any of these activities without holding the required registration certificate(s), your raw leaf tobacco may be seized and you may have to pay fines and penalties.

Note for processors: You must hold a Raw Leaf Tobacco Processor Registration Certificate even if you only process as a service provider and never own the raw leaf tobacco that you process.

Note for Tobacco Manufacturers registered under s.7 of the Tobacco Tax Act: If you only buy raw leaf tobacco to incorporate it into the tobacco products you manufacture, you do not need to hold a Raw Leaf Tobacco Registration Certificate. You can also rely on your manufacturer registration certificate to transport and sell your raw leaf tobacco in Ontario. However, if you conduct any other regulated raw leaf tobacco activity, such as importing or exporting raw leaf tobacco, you must hold the raw leaf tobacco registration certificate(s) that apply to the raw leaf tobacco activity you conduct.

Personal Use Exemption

The Tobacco Tax Act provides for exemptions that allow an individual to:

  • produce and process for his or her own personal use, and not for sale, up to 15 kilograms of raw leaf tobacco per calendar year
  • buy up to 3 kilograms of raw leaf tobacco for his or her own personal use
  • import up to 3 kilograms of raw leaf tobacco for his or her own personal use
  • export up to 3 kilograms of raw leaf tobacco for his or her own personal use
  • transport up to 5 kilograms of raw leaf tobacco for his or her own or another individual's personal use.

This means you do not require a registration certificate under the Tobacco Tax Act for the above activities provided they do not exceed the maximum weight allowed.

In addition, the personal use exemption allows the sale or delivery of up to 3 kilograms of raw leaf tobacco to an individual for their own personal use.

How to get a Raw Leaf Tobacco Registration certificate

To register under the Raw Leaf Tobacco Program, you must complete an Application to Register - Raw Leaf Tobacco and submit it to the Ministry of Finance. To register as an interjurisdictional transporter, complete an Application to Register for Interjurisdictional Transporter under the Tobacco Tax Act and submit it to the Ministry of Finance.

Raw leaf tobacco registration certificates contain conditions and restrictions

If you meet the criteria, the Ministry of Finance will issue you the applicable Raw Leaf Tobacco Registration Certificate(s). The certificate(s) allows you to conduct the applicable regulated raw leaf tobacco activity for the period indicated on the certificate, subject to the conditions contained in the certificate. Failure to comply with conditions and restrictions may result in penalties or fines.

The Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate is valid for only the current year or less. You will need to confirm that you continue to meet the criteria for a new Raw Leaf Tobacco Producer Registration Certificate for each subsequent year that you intend to conduct your activity. Producers are required to complete an Application to Produce form prior to planting raw leaf tobacco each year. You will receive this application each year for you to complete and submit to the Ministry of Finance.

Refusal to issue a registration certificate

If the Ministry of Finance intends to refuse to issue a registration certificate, you have the opportunity under the Tobacco Tax Act to request a show‑cause hearing with the Ministry of Finance to allow you to raise your concerns and request a re‑evaluation of your application.

Buying and selling raw leaf tobacco

Buying raw leaf tobacco

If you are authorized to buy raw leaf tobacco under your registration certificate, you may only buy and receive raw leaf tobacco from a person who holds a valid Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate. You can check who is registered by visiting the Ministry of Finance's website.

Note: In the case of buying from a producer, please call the Ministry of Finance at 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) extension 16160 to confirm whether a producer holds a valid Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate.

Buying raw leaf tobacco from producers who have yet to produce the raw leaf tobacco - Evidence of contract for purchase

Generally, raw leaf tobacco cannot be produced in Ontario unless the producer first has a buyer who has agreed to buy the raw leaf tobacco that the producer will be producing for the buyer during the current production year.

If you are buying raw leaf tobacco from a producer who will be growing the raw leaf tobacco being sold to you, you must confirm that the producer holds a valid Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate. You can check who is registered by calling the Ministry of Finance at 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) extension 16160 to confirm whether a producer holds a valid Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate.

You must also confirm the production quantity arrangement and your agreement to buy the raw leaf tobacco that the producer will be producing for you by signing the Evidence of Contract for Purchase form that the producer will complete and also sign and submit along with their Application to Produce.

The Evidence of Contract for Purchase summarizes the production quantity arrangement that you have with the producer for the current production year, including information regarding the amount of land that the producer asserts is needed to plant tobacco plants on in order to be able to fulfill the arrangement.

Note: A separate Evidence of Contract for Purchase form is required to be completed for every producer who has agreed to sell to you the raw leaf tobacco that the producer will be producing for you. An Evidence of Contract for Purchase is also required if you arrange to purchase from a producer any carry over tobacco grown in a previous production year by a producer. Further, this process is required for every production year that the producer(s) will be growing raw leaf tobacco to sell to you.

Selling raw leaf tobacco

If you sell, offer to sell, or keep for sale raw leaf tobacco, you must hold a valid Raw Leaf Tobacco Dealer Registration Certificate. You may only sell or offer to sell to a person who holds a valid raw leaf tobacco registration certificate or to a tobacco manufacturer registered under section 7 the Tobacco Tax Act. You can check who is registered by visiting the Ministry of Finance's website.

Reporting requirements of raw leaf tobacco registrants

You must let the Ministry of Finance know about any changes to the name or nature of your business and your raw leaf tobacco activities as soon as the change happens. You must also give the Ministry of Finance the information below.

Raw leaf tobacco return and schedule(s)

You must report your raw leaf tobacco activities for each month by completing and sending in a Raw Leaf Tobacco Return to the Ministry of Finance.

The information that must be reported includes, where applicable:

  • how much raw leaf tobacco you have in inventory at the start of the reporting period
  • details including the quantity of raw leaf tobacco you have bought and who you bought the tobacco from during the reporting period
  • details including the quantity of raw leaf tobacco you have sold and who you sold the tobacco to during the reporting period
  • details including the quantity of the raw leaf tobacco you have processed
  • details including the quantity of the raw leaf tobacco you have brought into Ontario
  • details including the quantity of the raw leaf tobacco you have taken out of Ontario
  • any adjustments to raw leaf tobacco quantity you have in inventory and the reason for the adjustment, and
  • how much raw leaf tobacco you have in inventory at the end of the reporting period.

You must complete and file the return by the 10th of the following month even if you have no activity to report.

Your reporting period and filing frequency may change depending on other regulated raw leaf tobacco activities you engage in, such as if you only produce in Ontario and sell the raw leaf tobacco you grow in Ontario.

Tobacco manufacturers

If you are registered as a tobacco manufacturer under the Tobacco Tax Act, you must report your raw leaf tobacco activities in a schedule as part of your monthly Tobacco Tax Return. This schedule and return is required to be filed even if you have no activity to report.

Interjurisdictional transporters

If you are registered as an interjurisdictional transporter under the Tobacco Tax Act, you must report your raw leaf tobacco activities as part of your monthly Tobacco Tax Interjurisdictional Transporter Return. This return is required to be filed even if you have no activity to report.

Notice of intent to destroy

If for any reason you want to destroy raw leaf tobacco, you must inform the Ministry of Finance at least three (3) days before you destroy the tobacco.

Details you must give include:

  • the date of the planned destruction
  • the current location of the raw leaf tobacco to be destroyed and the location where it is to be destroyed
  • the quantity and type of raw leaf tobacco to be destroyed
  • the method of destruction, and
  • the reason for the destruction.

Contact the Ministry of Finance by calling 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) extension 16160.

Stolen Raw Leaf Tobacco or Damaged Crops

In the case of theft of raw leaf tobacco or crop damage, producers are asked to promptly contact the Ministry of Finance by calling 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) extension 16160 so that the details of the occurrence may be documented and verified. Supporting documentation may include a copy of any police report or insurance report.

Transporting raw leaf tobacco

Registration certificate required for transporting raw leaf tobacco

Any person who transports raw leaf tobacco in Ontario must have a registration certificate for the raw leaf activities in which they engage or be transporting the raw leaf tobacco on behalf of such a person. If you transport raw leaf tobacco in Ontario without crossing provincial or international borders, you do not need a separate registration certificate to transport the raw leaf tobacco.

Whenever raw leaf tobacco is transported by an interjurisdictional transporter, the transporter must carry a true copy of their interjurisdictional transporter registration certificate.

Please see Changes to the Raw Leaf Tobacco for more information on transporting requirements and consequences of non‑compliance.

Inspection and compliance

Failure to comply can result in suspension and cancellation

Ministry of Finance officials are authorized to examine any inventory of raw leaf tobacco. This includes inspecting fields where tobacco is grown and barns, kilns, warehouses, and facilities used for curing, cutting and storing tobacco – both onsite and offsite.

Ministry of Finance officials may seize the raw leaf tobacco from anyone not in compliance with the Tobacco Tax Act. In certain circumstances, you will receive a written notice prior to the Ministry of Finance seizing your raw leaf tobacco. If you receive a written notice that the Ministry of Finance intends to seize your raw leaf tobacco, you may make a written request within 5 days of receiving that notice to have a hearing to explain why the Ministry of Finance should not seize the tobacco.

Your raw leaf tobacco registration certificate(s) may be suspended or cancelled for many reasons, including:

  • providing false or misleading information
  • breaching your conditions and restrictions, or
  • otherwise not complying with the Tobacco Tax Act.

If the Ministry of Finance intends to suspend or cancel your registration certificate, under the Tobacco Tax Act you have the opportunity to request a show‑cause hearing with the Ministry of Finance to allow you to raise your concerns and request a re‑evaluation of the Ministry of Finance's intention.

Request for written interpretations

To obtain a written interpretation on a specific situation not addressed on this page, please send your request in writing to: Ministry of Finance, Advisory Services - Tobacco Tax, 33 King Street West, 3rd Floor, Oshawa ON L1H 8H5.

Recommended for you

Page: 3279  |

Renseignements sur le Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles

Aux fins du programme, le tabac en feuilles comprend toutes les variétés de tabac non fabriqué, cultivé ou introduit en Ontario, notamment le tabac jaune, le tabac noir séché au feu/tabac noir séché à l'air naturel (aussi connu sous le nom de tabac noir), et le tabac Burley.

En Ontario, le tabac en feuilles est réglementé par le ministère des Finances, qu'il soit ou non cultivé en Ontario.

Pour en savoir plus sur la culture de tabac en feuilles, consultez la fiche intitulée Renseignements sur le Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles à l'intention des producteurs.

Exigence de s'inscrire en vertu du Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles

Certificats d'inscription requis pour pouvoir exercer des activités relatives au tabac en feuilles

Le programme du ministère des Finances relatif au tabac en feuilles a débuté le 1er janvier 2015. En vertu de ce programme, le ministère délivrera des certificats d'inscription et effectuera des inspections ainsi que des enquêtes selon les besoins. Si vous étiez auparavant inscrit en tant que producteur de tabac en feuilles auprès de la Commission ontarienne de commercialisation du tabac jaune, vous devrez désormais détenir un certificat d'inscription émis par le ministère des Finances afin de pouvoir cultiver du tabac en feuilles. Aucuns frais ne seront imputés pour la délivrance d'un certificat d'inscription par le ministère des Finances.

La Loi de la taxe sur le tabac stipule que toutes les entités exerçant des activités dans l'industrie du tabac en feuilles doivent détenir un certificat d'inscription délivré par le ministère des Finances, et ne peuvent traiter qu'avec d'autres entités détenant le certificat d'inscription approprié émis en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. Le ministère des Finances tiendra un registre de toutes les personnes et entreprises inscrites au titre du tabac en feuilles.

À compter du 1er janvier 2015, vous devrez être titulaire d'un certificat d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac si vous :

  • produisez (plantez, cultivez, récoltez, faites sécher ou mettez en ballots ou en paquets) du tabac en feuilles
  • transformez (faites l'effeuillage, l'écôtage, le battage, le resséchage, le mélange ou l'emballage) du tabac en feuilles
  • vendez ou achetez du tabac en feuilles
  • introduisez du tabac en feuilles en Ontario, ou si vous en expédiez hors de cette province (import/export), ou encore, si vous
  • transportez du tabac en feuilles à l'intérieur ou à l'extérieur de l'Ontario et n'êtes pas déjà inscrit auprès du ministère des Finances en tant que transporteur interterritorial.

Si vous exercez l'une ou l'autre de ces activités sans détenir le(s) certificat(s) d'inscription requis, votre tabac en feuilles pourra faire l'objet d'une saisie et vous pourriez avoir à payer des amendes et pénalités.

Remarque à l'intention des transformateurs : Vous devez être titulaire d'un certificat d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles même si la transformation est réalisée uniquement à titre de service et que vous n'êtes jamais propriétaire du tabac en feuilles que vous transformez.

Remarque à l'intention des fabricants de tabac inscrits en vertu de l'art. 7 de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac : Si vous achetez du tabac en feuilles uniquement dans le but de l'incorporer à des produits du tabac que vous fabriquez, vous n'êtes pas tenu de posséder un certificat d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles. Vous pouvez également utiliser votre certificat d'inscription de fabricant pour transporter et vendre votre tabac en feuilles en Ontario. Toutefois, si vous exercez toute autre activité réglementée comportant du tabac en feuilles, telle que l'importation ou l'exportation de tabac en feuilles, vous devez posséder le(s) certificat(s) d'inscription qui s'applique(nt) à l'activité en question.

Exemption pour usage personnel

La Loi de la taxe sur le tabac prévoit des exemptions permettant à un contribuable :

  • de produire et transformer, pour son usage personnel et non à des fins de revente, jusqu'à 15 kilogrammes de tabac en feuilles par année civile
  • d'acheter jusqu'à 3 kilogrammes de tabac en feuilles pour son usage personnel
  • d'importer jusqu'à 3 kilogrammes de tabac en feuilles pour son usage personnel
  • d'exporter jusqu'à 3 kilogrammes de tabac en feuilles pour son usage personnel
  • de transporter jusqu'à 5 kilogrammes de tabac en feuilles pour son usage personnel ou pour l'usage personnel d'une autre personne.

Cela signifie que vous n'avez pas besoin d'un certificat d'inscription en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac pour les activités décrites ci-dessus pourvu que vous ne dépassiez pas le poids maximum autorisé.

De plus, l'exemption pour usage personnel permet de vendre ou de livrer jusqu'à 3 kilogrammes de tabac en feuilles à un particulier pour son usage personnel.

Comment obtenir un certificat d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles

Pour vous inscrire en vertu du Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles, vous devez remplir une Demande d'inscription – Tabac en feuilles et le soumettre au ministère des Finances. Pour vous inscrire en tant que transporteur interterritorial, vous devez remplir une Demande d'inscription – Transporteur interterritorial en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac et le soumettre au ministère des Finances.

Les certificats d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles comportent certaines conditions et restrictions

Si vous répondez aux critères établis, le ministère des Finances vous enverra le(s) certificat(s) d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles applicable(s). Ce(s) certificat(s) vous permettra(ont) d'exercer les activités réglementées applicables au titre du tabac en feuilles pendant la période indiquée sur le certificat, sous réserve des conditions qui y sont précisées. Le manquement à respecter ces conditions et ces limites peut donner lieu à l'imposition de pénalités ou d'amendes.

Le certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles est valide uniquement pour l'année en cours ou moins. Chaque année, si vous comptez exercer vos activités, vous devrez confirmer que vous continuez de répondre aux conditions applicables pour qu'un nouveau certificat d'inscription de producteur de tabac en feuilles vous soit délivré. Les producteurs sont tenus de remplir une Demande de production de tabac en feuilles chaque année avant de commencer leurs activités de plantation. Cette demande vous est envoyée chaque année afin que vous puissiez la remplir et la retourner au ministère des Finances.

Refus de délivrer un certificat d'inscription

Si le ministère des Finances refuse de vous délivrer un certificat d'inscription, vous pouvez, en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, solliciter une audience auprès du ministère afin d'exposer les raisons de votre désaccord et demander une réévaluation de votre demande.

Vente et achat de tabac en feuilles

Achat de tabac en feuilles

Si vous êtes autorisé à acheter du tabac en feuilles en vertu de votre certificat d'inscription, vous prouvez uniquement acheter et recevoir tel tabac en feuilles de la part d'une personne qui détient un certificat d'inscription de marchand de tabac en feuilles valide. Vous pouvez vérifier si une personne est inscrite en consultant le site Web du ministère des Finances.

Remarque : Si vous voulez acheter du tabac en feuilles auprès d'un producteur, veuillez communiquer avec le ministère des Finances au 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) poste 16160 pour confirmer si tel ou tel producteur possède un certificat de marchand de tabac en feuilles valide.

Achat de tabac en feuilles auprès de producteurs n'ayant pas encore produit ledit tabac en feuilles : Preuve de contrat d'achat

En règle générale, un producteur ne peut produire de tabac en feuilles en Ontario à moins qu'un acheteur ait accepté d'acheté le tabac en feuilles qui sera produit par tel producteur à l'intention de l'acheteur durant l'année de production en cours.

Si vous achetez du tabac en feuilles auprès d'un producteur qui cultivera le tabac en feuilles qui vous sera vendu, vous devez confirmer que tel producteur possède un certificat d'inscription de marchand de tabac en feuilles valide. Communiquez avec le ministère des Finances au 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) poste 16160 pour confirmer si tel ou tel producteur possède un certificat de marchand de tabac en feuilles valide.

Vous devez également confirmer la quantité à produire qui a été convenue ainsi que votre engagement à acheter le tabac en feuilles que le producteur produira pour vous en signant la Preuve de contrat d'achat que le producteur doit remplir et également signer, pour ensuite la joindre à sa Demande de production.

La Preuve de contrat d'achat résume l'entente sur la quantité à produire conclue avec le producteur pour l'année de production en cours, et donne des précisions sur le nombre d'acres requis, selon le producteur, pour planter les plants de tabac afin de pouvoir respecter les termes de l'entente.

Remarque : Une Preuve de contrat d'achat distincte doit être remplie pour chaque producteur ayant accepté de vous vendre le tabac en feuilles qu'il produira pour vous. Une Preuve de contrat d'achat est également requise si vous prévoyez acheter auprès d'un producteur toute quantité de tabac en feuilles cultivé que tel producteur a reporté d'une année de production antérieure. Ce processus est également requis pour toute année de production où le(s) producteur(s) entend(ent) cultiver du tabac en feuilles en vue de vous le vendre.

Vente de tabac en feuilles

Si vous vendez, mettez en vente ou gardez pour la vente du tabac en feuilles, vous devez posséder un certificat d'inscription de marchand de tabac en feuilles valide. Vous pouvez seulement vendre ou mettre en vente du tabac en feuilles auprès d'une personne qui détient un certificat d'inscription valide au titre du tabac en feuilles ou à un fabricant de tabac inscrit en vertu de l'article 7 de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. Vous pouvez vérifier si une personne est inscrite en consultant le site Web du ministère des Finances.

Exigences de déclaration pour les personnes inscrites au titre du tabac en feuilles

Vous devez informer immédiatement le ministère des Finances de tout changement survenu dans le nom ou la nature de votre entreprise, ou de vos activités au titre du tabac en feuilles. Vous devez également fournir au ministère les renseignements suivants.

Déclaration et annexe(s) sur le tabac en feuilles

Vous devez déclarer, chaque mois, vos activités au titre du tabac en feuilles en remplissant une Déclaration de tabac en feuilles et en l'envoyant au ministère des Finances.

Vous devez entre autres fournir les renseignements suivants, s'il y a lieu :

  • quantité de tabac en feuilles détenue en stock au début de la période de déclaration
  • détails sur la quantité de tabac en feuilles que vous avez achetée pendant la période de déclaration et auprès de qui vous l'avez achetée
  • détails sur la quantité de tabac en feuilles que vous avez vendue pendant la période de déclaration et à qui vous l'avez vendue
  • détails sur la quantité de tabac en feuilles que vous avez transformée
  • détails sur la quantité de tabac en feuilles que vous avez introduite en Ontario
  • détails sur la quantité de tabac en feuilles que vous avez sortie de l'Ontario
  • tout rajustement apporté à la quantité de tabac en feuilles détenue en stock ainsi que la raison du rajustement, et
  • quantité de tabac en feuilles détenue en stock à la fin de la période de déclaration.

Vous devez remplir et produire la déclaration au plus tard le 10 du mois suivant, même si vous n'avez aucune activité à déclarer.

Votre période de déclaration ainsi que votre fréquence de production peuvent changer selon les autres activités liées au tabac en feuilles que vous exercez, comme par exemple, si vous produisez le tabac uniquement en Ontario, et si vous vendez en Ontario le tabac que vous cultivez.

Fabricants de tabac

Si vous êtes inscrit en tant que fabricant de tabac en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, vous devez déclarer vos activités au titre du tabac en feuilles sur l'annexe applicable de votre Déclaration de taxe sur le tabac mensuelle. Cette annexe ainsi que la déclaration sont requises même si vous n'avez aucune activité à déclarer.

Transporteurs interterritoriaux

Si vous êtes inscrit en tant que transporteur interterritorial en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, vous devez déclarer vos activités au titre du tabac en feuilles sur votre Déclaration de transporteur interterritorial mensuelle. Cette déclaration est requise même si vous n'avez aucune activité à déclarer.

Avis d'intention de détruire

Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, vous voulez détruire du tabac en feuilles, vous devez en informer le ministère des Finances au moins trois (3) jours avant de procéder à telle destruction. Vous devez notamment préciser :

  • la date prévue de la destruction
  • l'emplacement actuel du tabac en feuilles à détruire et le lieu où la destruction aura lieu
  • la quantité et le type de tabac en feuilles à détruire
  • la méthode de destruction, et
  • la raison de cette destruction.

Communiquez avec le ministère des Finances au 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297), poste 16160.

Tabac en feuilles volé ou récolte endommagée

En cas de vol de tabac en feuilles ou de dommages subis par une récolte, les producteurs doivent communiquer avec le ministère des Finances dans les plus brefs délais en composant le 1 866 ONT‑TAXS (1 866 668‑8297) poste 16160 afin que les détails de la situation puissent être consignés et vérifiés. Les documents justificatifs requis pourraient englober un rapport de police ou un rapport d'assurance.

Transport de tabac en feuilles

Certificat d'inscription requis pour le transport de tabac en feuilles

Toute personne qui transporte du tabac en feuilles en Ontario doit posséder un certificat d'inscription applicable aux activités exercées à l'égard de tel tabac en feuilles, ou transporter tel tabac en feuilles au nom d'une personne qui détient un tel certificat. Si vous transportez du tabac en feuilles en Ontario sans franchir de frontière provinciale ou internationale, vous n'avez pas besoin d'un certificat d'inscription distinct pour transporter le tabac en feuilles.

Chaque fois qu'un transporteur interterritorial transporte du tabac en feuilles, il doit avoir en sa possession une copie conforme du certificat d'inscription de transporteur interterritorial.

Veuillez consulter Modifications au Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les exigences relatives au transport et les conséquences du non-respect de ces exigences.

Inspection et conformité

Tout manquement à se conformer pourrait entraîner une suspension ou une révocation

Les représentants du ministère des Finances sont autorisés à examiner tout stock de tabac en feuilles. Cela comprend l'inspection des champs où le tabac est cultivé, ainsi que les granges, séchoirs, entrepôts et installations utilisés pour le séchage, le coupage et l'entreposage du tabac – tant sur place qu'à un autre emplacement.

Les représentants du ministère des Finances peuvent saisir le tabac en feuilles de toute personne qui omet de se conformer aux exigences de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac. Dans certains cas, un préavis écrit vous sera signifié avant la saisie de votre tabac en feuilles par le ministère. Si vous recevez un préavis écrit à l'effet que le ministère des Finances prévoit saisir votre tabac en feuilles, vous pouvez demander, par écrit et dans les 5 jours suivant la réception dudit préavis, la tenue d'une audience afin d'expliquer pourquoi le ministère des Finances ne devrait pas saisir le tabac.

Différentes raisons pourraient entraîner la suspension ou la révocation de votre/vos certificat(s) d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles, notamment :

  • la communication de renseignements faux ou trompeurs
  • la violation des conditions ou restrictions qui vous sont imposées, ou
  • toute autre infraction à la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac.

Si le ministère des Finances vous signifie son intention de suspendre ou de révoquer votre certificat d'inscription, vous pouvez, en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, solliciter une audience auprès du ministère afin d'exposer les raisons de votre désaccord et demander une réévaluation de son intention.

Demande d'interprétation écrite

Pour obtenir une interprétation écrite à l'égard d'une situation particulière non traitée dans le présent guide, veuillez en faire la demande par écrit au : Ministère des Finances, Services consultatifs - Taxe sur le tabac, 33, rue King Ouest, 3e étage, Oshawa ON L1H 8H5.

Sujets connexes recommandés

Page : 3279  |