What to expect from a raw leaf tobacco inspection

This page explains the inspection authority, objectives, procedures and consequences under the Ministry of Finance Raw Leaf Tobacco Program. It provides general information only and does not replace the Tobacco Tax Act and Regulations.

This page will be of interest to any person who:

  • produces (i.e., plant, grow, harvest, cure, bale or package) raw leaf tobacco in Ontario
  • processes (i.e., strip, stem, thresh, re‑dry, blend, or package) raw leaf tobacco in Ontario
  • sells or buys raw leaf tobacco in Ontario
  • brings into or takes out of Ontario (import/export) raw leaf tobacco, or
  • transports raw leaf tobacco into or out of Ontario.

Under the Tobacco Tax Act, raw leaf tobacco includes all varieties of unmanufactured tobacco, including flue‑cured, dark‑fire‑cured/dark‑air‑cured (also known as black) and burley tobacco. It does not include seedlings.

Authority for tobacco inspection

Ministry of Finance tobacco inspectors are authorized under the Tobacco Tax Act to inspect any land used to grow tobacco and any location that may have an inventory of raw leaf tobacco. This may include processor facilities, warehouses and other storage locations. The Ministry of Finance regulates all aspects of raw leaf tobacco activity in Ontario. This includes both raw leaf tobacco that was grown in Ontario and raw leaf tobacco that has been imported into Ontario.

Tobacco inspection objectives and process

Part of a Ministry of Finance tobacco inspector's job is to help raw leaf tobacco producers and others to understand their obligations and ensure compliance with the Tobacco Tax Act. Inspectors wear uniforms and will identify themselves by showing Ministry of Finance issued identification. Inspections are not announced or scheduled in advance, and no warrant is needed for the inspection.

Tobacco inspectors follow the Regulator's Code of Practice and must follow service principles and standards which promote a consistent level of service excellence and fairness to all business owners and citizens of Ontario. A raw leaf tobacco inspection may take up to several hours to complete. Inspectors will make every effort not to interrupt the operation of the business. Farm staff may contact farm owners during the inspection, but it will not stop the inspection in progress.

Inspectors will verify locations of lands where tobacco plants are planted, a process which may include measuring the land used to grow tobacco and reviewing aerial surveys of planted fields. Inspectors will also examine facilities used for curing, cutting and storing raw leaf tobacco (e.g., inspecting barns, kilns and warehouses). This includes storage facilities that may belong to another person.

Ministry of Finance inspectors will conduct field visits in a manner that protects industry participant's livelihood (e.g., take necessary precautions to avoid cross‑contamination), ensures all safety procedures are followed and minimizes the impact on operations and staff.

Preparing for an inspection

  • Try to make yourself available. However, it is not a prerequisite that the business owner is present for an inspection.
  • Communicate the tobacco inspection process to any staff that may be present during an inspection so that they are aware of the process and the authority for the inspection.
  • Provide access to inventories, lands and supporting raw leaf tobacco infrastructure.

Seizure of raw leaf tobacco

Ministry officials may seize the raw leaf tobacco from anyone not in compliance with the Tobacco Tax Act. In certain circumstances, you will receive a written notice prior to the Ministry of Finance seizing your raw leaf tobacco. If you receive a written notice that the Ministry of Finance intends to seize your raw leaf tobacco, you may make a written request within 5 days of receiving that notice to have a hearing to explain why the Ministry of Finance should not seize the raw leaf tobacco.

The Tobacco Tax Act provides for penalties and fines for producers who plant more than permitted on their producer registration certificate. Additionally, inspectors may seize raw leaf tobacco not yet harvested and may allow the producer to cut down the raw leaf tobacco not yet harvested. Ministry inspectors may require that the cut down is supervised. All cut downs by the producer is at the risk and expense of the producer. If the Ministry of Finance seizes and disposes of the raw leaf tobacco, it may recover any costs of removal or disposal from the producer.

Notice of intent to destroy

If for any reason you want to destroy raw leaf tobacco, you must inform the Ministry of Finance at least three (3) days before you destroy the tobacco.

Details you must give include:

  • the date of the planned destruction
  • the current location of the raw leaf tobacco to be destroyed and the location where it is to be destroyed
  • the quantity and type of raw leaf tobacco to be destroyed
  • the method of destruction, and
  • the reason for the destruction.

Contact the Ministry of Finance by calling 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) extension 16160.

Stolen raw leaf tobacco or damaged crops

In the case of theft of raw leaf tobacco or crop damage, producers are asked to promptly contact the Ministry of Finance by calling 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) extension 16160 so that the details of the occurrence may be documented and verified. Supporting documentation may include a copy of any police report or insurance report.

Suspension and cancellation of registration

Your raw leaf tobacco registration certificate(s) may be suspended or cancelled for many reasons, including:

  • providing false or misleading information
  • breaching your conditions and restrictions, or
  • otherwise not complying with the Tobacco Tax Act.

If the Ministry of Finance intends to suspend or cancel your registration certificate, under the Tobacco Tax Act you have the opportunity to request a show‑cause hearing with the Ministry of Finance to allow you to raise your concerns and request a re‑evaluation of the Ministry of Finance's intention.

Request for written interpretations

To obtain a written interpretation on a specific situation, please send your request in writing to:

Ministry of Finance
Advisory Section
33 King Street West, 3rd Floor
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

Related articles

Articles providing further details on this topic include:

For more information

Visit ontario.ca/finance or contact the Ministry of Finance at 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) extension 16160 or 1‑800‑263‑7776 for teletypewriter (TTY).

Page: 3281  |

À quoi s'attendre lors d'une inspection sur le tabac en feuilles

Cette page précise l'autorité, les objectifs, les procédures et les conséquences d'une inspection effectuée en vertu du Programme relatif au tabac en feuilles du ministère des Finances. Elle fournit des renseignements généraux seulement et ne remplace aucunement la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac ni les règlements pris en application de cette loi.

Cette page s'adresse à toute personne qui :

  • produit (par ex. plante, cultive, récolte, fait sécher ou met en ballots ou en paquets) du tabac en feuilles en Ontario
  • traite (par ex. fait l'effeuillage, l'écôtage, le battage, le resséchage, le mélange ou l'emballage) du tabac en feuilles en Ontario
  • vend ou achète du tabac en feuilles en Ontario
  • introduit du tabac en feuilles en Ontario, ou en expédie hors de cette province (import/export), ou qui
  • transporte du tabac en feuilles à destination ou en provenance de l'Ontario.

En vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, le tabac en feuilles comprend toutes les variétés de tabac non fabriqué, notamment le tabac jaune, le tabac noir séché au feu/tabac noir séché à l'air naturel (aussi connu sous le nom de tabac noir), et le tabac Burley. Cela ne comprend toutefois pas les semis.

Autorité en matière d'inspection sur le tabac

Les inspecteurs du tabac du ministère des Finances sont autorisés, en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac (la Loi), à examiner tout bien‑fonds sur lequel est cultivé du tabac ainsi que tout lieu pouvant comporter un stock de tabac en feuilles. Cela peut englober les installations de transformation, entrepôts et autres lieux d'entreposage. La réglementation de toutes les activités liées au tabac en feuilles en Ontario est assurée par le ministère des Finances, et comprend à la fois le tabac en feuilles cultivé en Ontario, et le tabac en feuilles importé en Ontario.

Objectifs et processus des inspections sur le tabac

L'une des fonctions des inspecteurs du tabac du ministère des Finances consiste à aider les producteurs de tabac en feuilles et autres personnes concernées à comprendre leurs obligations d'assurer la conformité à la Loi. Ils portent des uniformes et se présenteront en montrant leur carte d'identité émise par le ministère des Finances. Les inspections ne sont pas annoncées ou fixées à l'avance, et ne nécessitent aucun mandat.

Les inspecteurs du tabac suivent le Code de pratique de l'organisme de réglementation et doivent appliquer des principes et normes qui favorisent un excellent niveau de service, uniforme et équitable à tous les propriétaires d'entreprises et citoyens de l'Ontario. Une inspection sur le tabac en feuilles peut durer plusieurs heures. Les inspecteurs s'efforceront dans la mesure du possible de ne pas interrompre le bon déroulement des activités de l'entreprise. Le personnel de l'exploitation agricole pourra contacter les propriétaires de l'exploitation au cours de l'inspection, mais cela n'entravera pas l'inspection en cours.

Les inspecteurs vérifieront l'emplacement des biens‑fonds où des plants de tabac ont été plantés, un processus qui pourrait englober la mesure de la superficie utilisée pour cultiver le tabac et l'examen de levés aériens des champs cultivés. Les inspecteurs examineront aussi les installations utilisées pour le séchage, le coupage et l'entreposage du tabac en feuilles (par ex. inspection des granges, séchoirs et entrepôts). Cela comprend les installations d'entreposage pouvant appartenir à une autre personne.

Lors de leurs visites sur place, les inspecteurs du ministère des Finances prendront soin de protéger le gagne‑pain du participant (ils prendront par exemple les précautions nécessaires pour éviter toute contamination croisée), de veiller à ce que toutes les mesures de sécurité soient respectées, et de minimiser l'incidence de l'inspection sur les activités de l'entreprise et son personnel.

Préparation en vue d'une inspection

  • Faites votre possible pour vous rendre disponible. Toutefois, il n'est pas obligatoire que le propriétaire de l'entreprise soit présent lors de l'inspection.
  • Ceci dit, assurez‑vous que toute personne qui sera présente lors de l'inspection soit au courant du processus d'inspection et de l'autorité d'effectuer telle inspection.
  • De plus, assurez‑vous de fournir l'accès aux inventaires, aux biens‑fonds et à tout infrastructure applicable au tabac en feuilles.

Saisie de tabac en feuilles

Les représentants du ministère peuvent saisir le tabac en feuilles de toute personne qui n'es pas en conformité aux exigences de la Loi. Dans certains cas, un préavis écrit vous sera signifié avant la saisie de votre tabac en feuilles par le ministère des Finances. Si vous recevez un préavis écrit à l'effet que le ministère des Finances prévoit saisir votre tabac en feuilles, vous pouvez demander, par écrit et dans les 5 jours suivant la réception dudit préavis, la tenue d'une audience afin d'expliquer pourquoi le ministère des Finances ne devrait pas saisir le tabac en feuilles.

La Loi de la taxe sur le tabac prévoit des pénalités et des amendes pour les producteurs qui cultivent plus que permis selon leur Certificat d’inscription de producteur. De plus, les inspecteurs peuvent saisir le tabac en feuilles qui n’a pas encore été récolté et peuvent permettre au producteur de le couper. Les inspecteurs du ministère pourraient exiger que cette coupe soit supervisée. Toutes les coupes faites par le producteur le sont à ses risques et dépenses. Si le ministère des Finances saisit et détruit du tabac en feuilles, il peut recouvrer tous les coûts relatifs à cette saisie et destruction du producteur.

Avis d'intention de détruire

Si, pour quelque raison que ce soit, vous voulez détruire du tabac en feuilles, vous devez en informer le ministère des Finances au moins trois (3) jours avant de procéder à telle destruction.

Vous devez notamment préciser :

  • la date prévue de la destruction
  • l'emplacement actuel du tabac en feuilles à détruire et le lieu où la destruction aura lieu
  • la quantité et le type de tabac en feuilles à détruire
  • la méthode de destruction, et
  • la raison de cette destruction.

Communiquez avec le ministère des Finances au 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297), poste 16160.

Tabac en feuilles volé ou récolte endommagée

En cas de vol de tabac en feuilles ou de dommages subis par une récolte, les producteurs doivent communiquer avec le ministère des Finances dans les plus brefs délais en composant le 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) poste 16160 afin que les détails de la situation puissent être consignés et vérifiés. Les documents justificatifs requis pourraient englober un rapport de police ou un rapport d'assurance.

Suspension et révocation d'un certificat d'inscription

Différentes raisons pourraient entraîner la suspension ou la révocation de votre/vos certificat(s) d'inscription au titre du tabac en feuilles, notamment :

  • la communication de renseignements faux ou trompeurs
  • la violation des conditions ou restrictions qui vous sont imposées, ou
  • toute autre infraction à la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac.

Si le ministère des Finances vous signifie son intention de suspendre ou de révoquer votre certificat d'inscription, vous pouvez, en vertu de la Loi de la taxe sur le tabac, solliciter une audience auprès du ministère des Finances afin d'exposer les raisons de votre désaccord et demander une réévaluation de son intention.

Demande d'interprétation écrite

Pour obtenir une interprétation écrite à l'égard d'une situation particulière non traitée dans le présent guide, veuillez en faire la demande par écrit au :

Ministère des Finances
Section consultatifs
33, rue King Ouest, 3eétage
Oshawa ON L1H 8H5

Articles connexes

Autres publications sur ce sujet :

Pour plus de renseignements

Visitez ontario.ca/finances ou communiquez avec le ministère des Finances au 1‑866‑ONT‑TAXS (1‑866‑668‑8297) ou 1‑800‑263‑7776 pour l'appareil de télécommunications pour sourds (ATS).

Page : 3281  |